Speed Gamers Pokemon Marathon For Charity Begins Today
Friday, December 18th, 2009 @ 11 AM, UTC -  By: Water Pokémon Master

EDIT: All 493 Pokemon was caught within 72 hours, 8 minutes. Over $18,000 raised for Ally House charity.

The Speed Gamers are a Texas-based group that has raised approximately $100,000 for various charities and organizations by playing 72-hour game marathons. Last December, they held a Pokemon marathon for ACT Today, an Austism organization, where they attempted to capture all Pokemon except for Shaymin and Arceus; donors sent in about $6,000.

In a few hours the Speed Gamers will attempt to capture all 493 Pokemon to raise money for Ally’s House, an organization that helps Oklahoma children with cancer. They will be using Ruby, Sapphire, FireRed, LeafGreen, Diamond, HeartGold, and SoulSilver to accomplish this goal and are expecting to finish in three days. You can watch a live feed of the event below (click the smaller play button) or on their website – it will begin at 4 PM PST, 5 PM MST, 6 PM CST, and 7 PM EST. If you wish to donate money, you can do so through their website as well.

Post a Comment on PB's Forums  /  Register to CommentTop ^

To link to this article, copy and paste the first code below when posting on a forum or the second code when posting on a website:

  • [url=http://pokebeach.com/2009/12/speed-gamers-pokemon-marathon-for-charity-begins-today]Speed Gamers Pokemon Marathon For Charity Begins Today[/url]
  • <a href="http://pokebeach.com/2009/12/speed-gamers-pokemon-marathon-for-charity-begins-today">Speed Gamers Pokemon Marathon For Charity Begins Today</a>

For current Pokémon news, please return to the main page. New developments may have occurred since this news story's original publication; please use the "Search Site" feature in the right menu to find recent news related to the subject matter above or simply monitor the main page for the latest Pokémon news.



Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional!

Valid CSS!