FAQ

Q: Can I put more than 30 Arceus cards in my half (30 card) deck, surpassing regulation size?
A: No, you can’t.

Q: Can I put more than 60 Arceus cards in my standard (60 card) deck, surpassing regulation size?
A: No, you can’t.

Q: When I build my deck, can I have Arceus be my only Pokemon?
A: Yes, you can. Arceus has a special rule attached to it called the Arceus Rule. When it comes to ordinary Pokemon cards, you can only have up to 4 cards with the same name in a standard (60 card) deck and up to 2 in a half (30 card) deck. But since you can have any number of Arceus cards in a deck, it’s possible to build a deck consisting of no Pokemon other than Arceus.

Q: Can I put any number of Arceus and Arceus LV.X cards in one deck?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: Can I use the Colorless-type Arceus’ “Ripple Swell” attack when I have 5 or fewer Energy in my deck?
A: Yes, you can. In this instance, you can choose as many Basic Energy as possible and attach them.

Q: Can I use the Colorless-type Arceus’ “Ripple Swell” attack to choose and attach Basic Energy that doesn’t correspond to any of my Benched Arceus’ Types?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: Can I use the Colorless-type Arceus’ “Ripple Swell” attack to choose 6 Basic Energy cards from my deck that are all the same Type, and attach them to my Arceus in play?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: If a Pokemon LV.X uses an attack from its previous Level, can it inflict damage or effects on an Arceus that’s used the attack, “Metal Barrier?”
A: No, it can’t.

Q: If a Colorless-type Arceus Levels Up into Arceus LV.X, does the Muli-Type Poke-Body make Arceus LV.X a Colorless-type?
A: Yes, it does.

Q: If Arceus LV.X uses the attack from a Benched Fire-type Arceus with the effect of its “Omniscient” Poke-Body, is it treated as a Fire-type Pokemon’s attack?
A: No, it isn’t. The Omniscient Poke-Body’s effect lets Arceus LV.X use your other Arceus’ attacks as if they were its own. So, if a Colorless-type Arceus LV.X uses an attack, treat is as a Colorless-type attack.

Q: Can Arceus LV.X use the “Meteor Blast” and “Psychic Bolt” attacks from my other Arceus LV.X in play via its “Omniscient” Poke-Body?
A: Yes, it can.

Q: My opponent’s Arceus LV.X used the “Break Ground” attack from a Benched Fighting-type Arceus through the effect of its “Omniscient” Poke-Body. In this case, can I choose Break Ground with Bibarel’s (SF) “Amnesia” attack?
A: No, you can’t.

Q: Can I put an Arceus LV.X in my hand with the “Beginning Door” Trainer card?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: Can I use the “Beginning Door” Trainer card when I have no cards in my deck?
A: No, you can’t.

Q: Can the “Ultimate Zone” Stadium’s effect be used to move Energy from a Benched Pokemon that isn’t an Arceus to an Active Arceus?
A: Yes, it can.

Q: Can the “Ultimate Zone” Stadium’s effect be used to move Energy to an Active Arceus LV.X?
A: Yes, it can.

Q: If Bronzong uses its “Antigravity” attack while Ariados’ (MT) “Sticky” Poke-Body is in effect, does Bronzong have a retreat cost of 0 until the end of my next turn?
A: Yes, it does.

Q: Can I Evolve Burmy into Wormadam or Mothim via the “Cloak Evolution” Poke-Body, even on the first turn of the game?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: Is damage from Charizard’s attacks increased by 10 with the effect of its “Fire Formation” Poke-Body while I have a Kecleon (RR) with the “Colorful Body” Poke-Body on my Bench?
A: Yes, it’s increased.

Q: Is damage from Charizard’s attacks increased by 10 with the effect of its “Fire Formation” Poke-Body while I have a Heat Rotom (RR) on my Bench that’s used its “Heat Shift” Poke-Power to turn into a Fire-type?
A: Yes, it’s increased.

Q: When I use Charmander’s “Call For Friends” attack to put a Basic Fire-type Pokemon into my hand, can I choose a Kecleon (RR) with the “Colorful Body” Poke-Body?
A: No, you can’t. Since Kecleon’s Colorful Body Poke-Body doesn’t start working until it comes into play, you can’t put it in your hand with Charmander’s Call For Friends attack.

Q: While I have a Cherrim with the “Cloudy Sky” Poke-Body in play, is damage done to my Benched Grass-type Pokemon and Fire-type Pokemon reduced by 10?
A: Yes, it’s reduced by 10.

Q: While I had a Cherrim with the “Cloudy Sky” Poke-Body in play, several of my Pokemon took damage from an opposing Pokemon’s attack. In this case, is the damage done to each of my Pokemon reduced by 10?
A: Yes, it’s reduced by 10.

Q: If my Camerupt (LA) uses its “Take-Down” attack while I have a Cherrim with the “Cloudy Sky” Poke-Body in play, is the self-inflicted damage reduced by 10?
A: Yes, the damage is reduced by 10.

Q: If I have 2 Cherrim with the “Cloudy Sky” Poke-Body in play, is any damage done to my Fire-type and Grass-type Pokemon by attacks reduced by 20?
A: Yes, it’s reduced by 20.

Q: Is damage done to my Kecleon (RR) with the “Colorful Body” Poke-Body reduced by 10 while I have a Cherrim with the “Cloudy Sky” Poke-Body in play?
A: Yes, it’s reduced by 10.

Q: If Gengar can’t do 10 damage to 1 of the opponent’s Benched Pokemon with its “Shadow Skip” attack, can Gengar still be switched with one of my Benched Pokemon?
A: Yes, it can.

Q: If Gengar can’t do any damage to the opponent’s Active Pokemon with its “Shadow Skip” attack, can Gengar still be switched with one of my Benched Pokemon?
A: Yes, it can.

Q: Can I use Gengar LV.X’s “Level-Down” Poke-Power on an opponent’s Pokemon LV.X, if Leveling Down that Pokemon will reduce its HP to 0 and Knock it Out?
A: Yes, you can. In this situation, the opponent’s Pokemon is Knocked Out after being Leveled Down.

Q: After a Pokemon LV.X has been Leveled Down with Gengar LV.X’s “Level-Down” Poke-Power, are effects, Special Conditions, etc. removed from that Pokemon?
A: Yes, they’re removed.

Q: Can Gengar LV.X be Leveled Up from Gengar Prime (LL)?
A: Yes, it can. Gengar Prime and Gengar LV.X are considered Pokemon with the same name, so it can be Leveled Up.

Q: Can I discard a Rainbow Energy from my hand with Golem’s “Tumble Down” attack?
A: No, you can’t.

Q: If the opponent’s Active Pokemon has a Fighting-type Resistance of -20, can I do 120 damage to it with Hariyama’s “Vortex Chop” attack?
A: No, you can’t. Due to the Fighting Resistance, the Vortex Chop attack’s damage is reduced by 20, and it does 100 damage.

Q: My Haunter was hit by Exploud’s (SV) “Knock Back” attack. In this case, can Exploud be Poisoned by the effect of Haunter’s “Hidden Poison” Poke-Body?
A: Yes, it can. If Haunter is Active at the time when it’s damaged by an attack, even if it returns to the Bench afterward, the opponent is Poisoned by the effect of the Hidden Poison Poke-Body.

Q: My Benched Haunter was damaged by an enemy Swampert’s (SV) “Drag Off” attack. In this instance, can Swampert be Poisoned by Haunter’s “Hidden Poison” Poke-Body?
A: Yes, it can. Since Haunter was damaged after Drag Off switched it with the Active Pokemon, Swampert can be Poisoned by the effect of the Hidden Poison Poke-Body.

Q: Pachirisu (GE) uses its “Smash Short” attack on a Haunter that has an Unown E (MT) attached to it as a Pokemon Tool and 50 HP remaining. In this instance, the Unown E that’s acting as a Pokemon Tool is discarded, and Haunter is Knocked Out, but can Pachirisu be Poisoned by the effect of Haunter’s “Hidden Poison” Poke-Body?
A: Yes, it can. Haunter is Knocked Out by the effect of the opponent’s attack, but at the time when the attack’s damage is dealt, the Hidden Poison Poke-Body’s effect is working, so Pachirisu can be Poisoned.

Q: If Metal Special Energy cards are among the cards discarded from my deck by the effect of Heatran’s “Magma Mantle” attack, can I add 20 damage for each of those cards?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: If Multi Energy cards are among the cards discarded from my deck by the effect of Heatran’s “Magma Mantle” attack, can I add 20 damage for each of those cards?
A: No, you can’t. Since Multi Energy doesn’t provide any particular Type of Energy when it isn’t attached to a Pokemon, you can’t add damage.

Q: Can I use Heatran’s “Magma Mantle” attack when I have 2 or fewer cards in my deck?
A: Yes, you can. And if any of the discarded cards are Fire or Metal Energy, you can add damage for those cards.

When a Garchomp (MT) with Water Energy attached to it uses its “Dragon Fang” attack on a Heatran with a x2 Water Weakness, does the “Rainbow Scale” Poke-Body cause Garchomp’s attack to do (70+40)x2, or 220 damage?
A: No, it doesn’t. The effect of the Rainbow Scale Poke-Body doesn’t change the Pokemon’s Type, so when it comes time to calculate Weakness and Resistance, treat it as a Colorless-type. The damage done to the opponent’s Heatran is: Dragon Fang’s 70 base damage + 40 damage for the effect of the Rainbow Scale Poke-Body, so 110 damage.

Q: If Luxray has an Unown attached to it as a Pokemon Tool, can I discard that Unown with the effect of its “Gadget Bolt” attack?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: If Luxray has an Unown E (MT) attached to it as a Pokemon Tool, and discarding it would result in its HP being reduced to 0 and it being Knocked Out, can Luxray discard the Unown E with the effect of its “Gadget Bolt” attack?
A: Yes, it can. After doing 100 damage, Luxray is Knocked Out.

Q: Can I take 3 different Types of Burmy or Wormadam cards from my deck with Mothim’s “Cloak Party” attack?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: Can I use Omastar’s “Time Spiral” attack to Devolve an opponent’s Evolved Pokemon LV.X?
A: Yes, you can. In this case, remove both the LV.X card and the previous level Pokemon card when you Devolve.

Q: I discarded a “Helix Fossil” with the effect of Giratina LV.X’s (PT) “Invisible Tentacles” Poke-Body. Immediately after that, when I use Omastar’s “Primal Tentacles” attack, can I include the Helix Fossil that was discarded with Giratina LV.X’s Invisible Tentacles as part of my damage calculation?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: When I use Pelipper’s “Continuous Crush” attack, once I flip a number of heads greater than or equal to the number of Energy cards attached to the Defending Pokemon, do I continue flipping?
A: No, stop flipping the coin.

Q: Can I use Pichu’s “Baby Evolution” Poke-Power and Evolve it into a LEGEND series Pikachu?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: My Ponyta’s only Energy was discarded by an effect of my opponent’s Water-type Pokemon’s attack. In this case, the “Star Barrier” Poke-Body’s effect vanishes, but is the damage to Ponyta increased due to its Weakness to Water?
A: No, it doesn’t increase. In this case, the Energy is discarded after calculating damage. So, at the time of damage calculation, Ponyta still has Energy attached to it, and Water Weakness can’t be applied because of the Star Barrier Poke-Body.

Q: If a Ponyta with a working “Star Barrier” Poke-Body is hit by an enemy Glaceon’s (MD) ” Speed Slide” attack, how much damage does it do?
A: It does 70 damage. Since Glaceon’s Speed Slide attack deals damage without regard for any effects on Ponyta, it ignores the effect of the Star Barrier Poke-Body, and the damage is increased due to Ponyta’s Weakness.

Q: Can I use Porygon-Z G’s “Dowsing Code” Poke-Power to return an Unown G (GE) with the “Guard” Poke-Power to my deck?
A: No, you can’t.

Q: Can a Rapidash with the “Wild Guard” Poke-Body be impacted by damage or effects of attacks from an opponent’s SP-Pokemon, while it’s on the Bench?
A: No, it can’t.

Q: While I didn’t have any cards in my hand, I chose and discarded my opponent’s “Bebe’s Search” Supporter card with Raticate’s “Recruit” attack. In this instance, can I use the effect of the discarded Bebe’s Search as an effect of the Recruit attack?
A: No, you can’t. If you can’t perform the effect of the Supporter, you can’t use it.

Q: Can I use Raticate’s “Recruit” attack to look at the opponent’s hand, and if he has any Supporter cards, not choose any of them?
A: No, you can’t. If there are any Supporters in your opponent’s hand, you must choose one.

Q: Can I choose not use the effect of a Supporter card that I discarded with Raticate’s “Recruit” attack?
A: No, you can’t. If you can perform the effect of the Supporter, you must use the effect.

Q: If the card revealed with Salamence’s “Top Accelerator” Poke-Power is a Basic Energy card, can I discard that Energy without attaching it to one of my Pokemon?
A: No, you can’t.

Q: If I use Salamence’s “Top Accelerator” Poke-Power and the card revealed is a Rainbow Energy (HS) or Double Colorless Energy (HS), can I attach that Energy to Salamence?
A: No, you can’t. You can only attach Basic Energy cards to your Pokemon with the effect of Salamence’s Top Accelerator Poke-Power. Since Rainbow Energy and Double Colorless Energy are Special Energy cards, if the revealed card is a Rainbow Energy or Double Colorless Energy, is it not attached to your Pokemon by the effect of the Top Accelerator Poke-Power, and is discarded.

Q: On the turn when I used Salamence LV.X’s “Double Fall” Poke-Power, if I Knock Out an opponent’s Pokemon with an attack from its previous level (Salamence), can I take an additional Prize card?
A: Yes, you can. The attacks from the previous Level are treated as the LV.X’s own attacks, so you can take an additional Prize card.

Q: On the turn when I used Salamence LV.X’s “Double Fall” Poke-Power, I Knocked Out my opponent’s Active Pokemon and a Benched Pokemon simultaneously with Salamence’s “Shoot Through” attack. In this case, can I take 4 Prize cards?
A: Yes, you can. With the effect of Double Fall, you take 1 additional Prize card for each Pokemon you Knock Out.

Q: On the turn when I used Salamence LV.X’s “Double Fall” Poke-Power, when I Knocked Out my opponent’s Gengar (SF), the Gengar flipped heads on its “Fainting Spell” Poke-Power. In this instance, Salamence LV.X is also Knocked Out, but can I still take an additional Prize card with the effect of Double Fall?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: On the turn when I used Salamence LV.X’s “Double Fall” Poke-Power, I Knocked Out my opponent’s Gengar (SF). At that time, if Gengar used its “Fainting Spell” Poke-Power and flipped heads, Salamence LV.X would also be Knocked Out, but could I take 2 Prize cards with the effect of the Double Fall Poke-Power?
A: Yes, you could. Since the effect of Salamence’s Double Fall Poke-Power lies on its owner, even if Salamence LV.X is Knocked Out, you can take 2 Prize cards.

Q: On the turn when I used Salamence LV.X’s “Double Fall” Poke-Power, I used the Prevolution, Bagon’s, “Rage” attack with the effect of a “Memory Berry” (PT) Pokemon Tool, and Knocked Out my opponent’s Pokemon. In this instance, can I take an additional Prize card?
A: Yes, you can. Since it’s Salamence LV.X that’s performing Bagon’s Rage attack (through the effect of Memory Berry), you may take an additional Prize card with the effect of Double Fall.

Q: On the turn when I used Salamence LV.X’s “Double Fall” Poke-Power, a Confused Weezing (RR) with the “Camouflage Gas” Poke-Body was Knocked Out. In this instance, can I take 1 Prize card for the effect of Double Fall?
A: No, you can’t. In this instance, since Weezing’s Camouflage Gas Poke-Body prevents the opposing player from taking Prize cards, you can’t take Prize cards for the effect of Salamence LV.X’s Double Fall Poke-Power either.

Q: On the turn when I used Salamence LV.X’s “Double Fall” Poke-Power, I Knocked Out a Weezing (RR) with a working “Camouflage Gas” Poke-Body and 1 of my opponent’s Benched Pokemon with the previous Level Salamence’s “Shoot Through” attack. Since 2 of my opponent’s Pokemon are Knocked Out, I’d normally take 2 Prize cards for the Knock Outs, then take an additional 2 Prize cards with the effect of the Double Fall Poke-Power, for a total of 4 Prize cards. However, in this instance, since the Camouflage Gas Poke-Body is in effect, I don’t take a Prize card for Knocking Out Weezing, I only take 1 Prize card as a result of Knock Outs, the one for the Benched Pokemon. At this point, when taking additional Prize cards for the Double Fall Poke-Power, can I take 2 cards, for both Weezing and the Benched Pokemon?
A: No, you can’t. The effect of Salamence LV.X’s “Double Fall” Poke-Power let’s you take 1 additional Prize card each time you take a Prize for a Knocked Out Pokemon. Since the effect of Weezing’s Camouflage Gas Poke-Body prevents the opposing player from taking a Prize card for Weezing, you can’t take an additional Prize card with the effect of the Double Fall Poke-Power. As a result, the effect of the Double Fall Poke-Power only lets you take 1 additional Prize card, for the Benched Pokemon.

Q: If I use Leafeon LV.X’s (MD) “Energy Forcing” Poke-Power to attach Energy to Sceptile, can I remove 2 damage counters with the effect of its “Green Breath” Poke-Body?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: I attached a Multi Energy, which provides every Type of Energy, from my hand to Sceptile. In this instance, can I remove damage counters with the effect of Sceptile’s “Green Breath” Poke-Body?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: When I attach a Rainbow Energy to Sceptile, which happens first: the removal of 2 damage counters as an effect of the “Green Breath” Poke-Body, or the placement of 1 damage counter as an effect of Rainbow Energy?
A: You can do it either way. If you choose to resolve the Green Breath Poke-Body first, the damage counter from Rainbow Energy remains on Sceptile.

Q: A Shelgon with a Fire Basic Energy and a Water Basic Energy attached to it used its “Dragon Bump” attack on the opponent’s Garchomp (SV). If, at that time, either the Fire or the Water Energy is returned to my hand by the effect of Garchomp’s “Dragon Intimidation” Poke-Body, can I still add 20 damage?
A: Yes, you can. In this case, Garchomp’s Dragon Intimidation Poke-Body returns the Energy after Garchomp takes damage from Shelgon’s Dragon Bump attack.

Q: Can I play cards like “Helix Fossil” and “Old Amber” from my hand onto my Bench as Pokemon while Spiritomb’s “Keystone Seal” Poke-Body is in effect?
A: No, you can’t.

Q: Can I attach “Pokemon Tools” and “TMs” from my hand while Spiritomb’s “Keystone Seal” Poke-Body is in effect?
A: No, you can’t. Pokemon Tools and TMs are included under the umbrella of “Trainer” cards.

Q: Can I use “Power Spray” (PT) on my opponent’s Pokemon’s Poke-Powers while Spiritomb’s “Keystone Seal” Poke-Body is in effect?
A: No, you can’t.

Q: Can I play “Supporter” cards from my hand while Spiritomb’s “Keystone Seal” Poke-Body is in effect?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: Can I play “Stadium” cards from my hand while Spiritomb’s “Keystone Seal” Poke-Body is in effect?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: If a Spiritomb with the “Keystone Seal” Poke-Body is Active, can I play “Goods” cards from my hand?
A: No, you can’t. Trainer cards from the DP through DPt series are equivalent to Goods cards from the LEGEND series.

Q: If a Spiritomb with the “Keystone Seal” Poke-Body is made Active, do Pokemon Tools that are already attached lose their effects?
A: No, they don’t.

Q: If a Pokemon that’s holding a “Lucky Egg” Pokemon Tool is Knocked Out while Spiritomb’s “Keystone Seal” Poke-Body is in effect, can I draw cards until I have 7 cards in my hand?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: If I use the Trainer, “Warp Point”, and my opponent acts first by making a Spiritomb with the “Keystone Seal” Poke-Body his new Active Pokemon, does this stop the effect of me switching my Pokemon?
A: No, it doesn’t. Keystone Seal can’t stop an effect that’s already in motion.

Q: Can I use Spiritomb’s “Darkness Grace” attack when it only has 10 HP remaining?
A: Yes, you can. If the effect of Darkness Grace reduces its HP to 0, Spiritomb is Knocked Out.

Q: Can I use Spiritomb’s “Darkness Grace” attack when I don’t have any Pokemon that can Evolve, to place a damage counter on Spiritomb?
A: No, you can’t. You only place a damage counter if you make something Evolve.

Q: Can I Evolve Pichu into Pikachu with the effect of Spiritomb’s “Darkness Grace” attack?
A: No, you can’t. The “Basic Pokemon” Pikachu isn’t an “Evolved Pokemon” that Evolves from Pichu, so it can’t be selected with Darkness Grace.

Q: Can I choose the number of damage counters to place on the opponent’s Pokemon with Swalot’s “Damage Roller” attack?
A: No, you can’t choose. You must place damage counters on the Defending Pokemon so that its HP is the same as Swalot’s own remaining HP.

Q: If a Swalot with 50 HP remaining uses its “Damage Roller” attack on an undamaged Cherubi while a “Snowpoint Temple” (LA) Stadium is in play, how many damage counters can I place?
A: 2 damage counters. Since the effect of Snowpoint Temple raises Cherubi’s maximum HP to 70, you can place 2 damage counters.

Q: When I choose one of my own Pokemon to damage with Swalot’s “Entangle Tackle” attack, can I choose a Benched Quagsire GL with the “Submerge” Poke-Body?
A: Yes, you can. However, due to the Submerge Poke-Body’s effect, Quagisre GL won’t take any damage.

Q: When I choose one of my own Pokemon to damage with Swalot’s “Entangle Tackle” attack, can I choose Swalot itself?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: Can I use Tangrowth LV.X’s “Big Growth” attack when I don’t have any Grass Energy cards in my discard pile?
A: Yes, you can. However, the effect will fail to process and the attack will end.

Q: If a Toxicroak with a Grass Energy and a Multi Energy attached to it uses “Convert Blow”, can it do an additional 30 damage and Poison the Defending Pokemon?
A: Yes, it can. If Multi Energy – which provides every Type of Energy, including Psychic-type and Fighting-type – is attached to Toxicroak, it’s treated as both Psychic and Fighting Energy, so you can add an additional 30 damage and Poison the Defending Pokemon.

Q: My Toxicroak that has Psychic Energy and Fighting Energy attached to it used “Convert Blow” on my opponent’s Garchomp (SV). If the Psychic Energy is returned to my hand by the effect of Garchomp’s “Dragon Intimidation” Poke-Body, can the opponent be Poisoned by the effect of Convert Blow?
A: Yes, it can. In this case, after becoming Poisoned by Toxicroak’s Convert Blow attack, Garchomp returns an Energy to your hand with the effect of its Dragon Intimidation Poke-Body.

Q: If a Toxicroak that used it’s “Convert Blow” attack during my opponent’s previous turn is Knocked Out by my Active Pokemon during my next turn, does my Pokemon that got hit by the Convert Blow attack recover from its Poison status?
A: No, it doesn’t recover. If your Pokemon is hit by an enemy Pokemon’s attack and afflicted by a Special Condition, even if the Pokemon that used that attack is Knocked Out, the Special Condition isn’t removed. Special Conditions can be removed by returning to the Bench, Evolving, Devolving, and Leveling Up.

Q: Can I choose a Special Energy card with the effect of Zapdos G’s “Charge Beam” attack, and attach it to Zapdos G?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: When a Zapdos G with a Rainbow Energy attached to it uses its “Lightning Strike” attack, do I discard the Rainbow Energy, which functions as every Type?
A: Yes, discard it.

Q: When a Granbull (UL) with the Pokemon Tool “Bench Shield” attached to it uses its “Lazy Tackle” attack, Granbull returns to the Bench, but does it do damage to itself?
A: Yes, it does. After doing damage to the opponent and to itself, Granbull switches places with a Benched Pokemon as an effect of the attack. Since Granbull is still an Active Pokemon at the time when damage is dealt, Bench Shield doesn’t work.

Q: Can I deal damage to an opponent’s Pokemon that has the Pokemon Tool card “Bench Shield” attached to it, with Weavile’s (UD) “Feint Attack”?
A: Yes, you can. Since Weavile’s Feint Attack deals damage without applying the effects on the opponent’s Pokemon, the effect of the Bench Shield Pokemon Tool is also ignored, and damage can be dealt.

Q: If a Clefairy (UL) with the Pokemon Tool “Buffer Piece” attached to it uses its “Minimize” attack, during the opponent’s next turn, is damage done to Clefairy reduced by 40?
A: Yes, it is. The effects of the Pokemon Tool Buffer Piece and Clefairy’s Minimize attack stack.

Q: My Pokemon that had a “Buffer Piece” Pokemon Tool card attached to it received damage from an enemy Raichu LV.X’s (SF) attack two times, due to the effect of the “Link Lightning” Poke-Body. In this instance, can the damage from Raichu LV.X’s attacks be reduced by 20 two times by the Buffer Piece Pokemon Tool?
A: Yes, it can. Since Buffer Piece is discarded at the end of your opponent’s next turn following the turn when it’s attached, all damage received from attacks before it is discarded is reduced by 20.

Q: Can I choose “Goods” cards when I use the Supporter “Department Store Girl”?
A: No, you can’t. Cards that don’t have the term “Pokemon Tool” written on them can’t be selected with the Department Store Girl Supporter card.

Q: If a Pokemon with an “Expert Belt” Pokemon Tool attached to it is Knocked Out by an effect of an opponent’s attack, can my opponent take an additional Prize card?
A: Yes, he can.

Q: A Pokemon with an “Expert Belt” Pokemon Tool attached to it is Knocked Out while it’s on the Bench. In this case, can the opponent take an additional Prize card?
A: Yes, he can.

Q: If my opponent’s Pachirisu (GE) Knocks Out a Pokemon that had its “Expert Belt” Pokemon Tool discarded with the “Smash Short” attack, can my opponent take an additional Prize card?
A: No, he can’t. Since the Pokemon is Knocked Out after the Pokemon Tool is discarded by the effect of the Smash Short attack, the Expert Belt’s effect vanishes.

Q: In the Q&A about Pachirisu’s (GE) “Smash Short” attack and the “Expert Belt” Pokemon Tool, you said “Since the Pokemon is Knocked Out after the Pokemon Tool is discarded by the effect of the Smash Short attack, the Expert Belt’s effect vanishes.” In the Q&A about Gengar’s (SF) “Fainting Spell” Poke-Power, Pachirisu’s “Smash Short” attack, and the “Cessation Crystal” (CG) Pokemon Tool, you said, “The enemy Pachirisu’s Smash Short attack discards Cessation Crystal, and when Gengar faints, its Fainting Spell Poke-Power can’t be used.” These answers seem to contradict each other, so which one is correct?
A: The timing of the effects for Expert Belt and Fainting Spell is different. The Expert Belt’s effect happens when the Pokemon is Knocked Out. Since the Pokemon is Knocked Out after Pachirisu’s Smash Short has already discarded the Expert Belt Pokemon Tool, when the Pokemon is Knocked Out, the Expert Belt’s effect no longer works. Gengar’s Fainting Spell is a Poke-Power that can be used immediately after an attack hits, when Gengar has more damage counters on it than its HP allows and its HP is reduced to 0. In this instance, at the moment when damage is dealt, the Cessation Crystal Pokemon Tool is still in effect, and the Fainting Spell Poke-Power can’t be used. After this window passes, the Cessation Crystal is discarded as an effect of the attack, and Gengar is then Knocked Out.

Q: If I use Luxray’s “Gadget Bolt” attack to discard an “Expert Belt” Pokemon Tool, can I do 120 damage to my opponent?
A: Yes, you can. After dealing 120 damage, discard the Expert Belt.

Q: My Luxray, which had 20HP remaining and an “Expert Belt” Pokemon Tool attached to it, discarded the Expert Belt as an effect of its “Gadget Bolt” attack, and was Knocked Out after doing 120 damage to the Defending Pokemon. Can my opponent take 2 Prize cards?
A: No, he can only take 1 Prize card. Since Luxray is Knocked Out after the Expert Belt has already been discarded by the effect of Gadget Bolt, Expert Belt’s effect doesn’t work, and the opponent can’t take an additional Prize card.

Q: On the turn when I used Salamence LV.X’s “Double Fall” Poke-Power, an opponent’s Pokemon that had an “Expert Belt” attached to it was Knocked Out by Salamence’s attack. In this instance, can I take 3 Prize cards?
A: Yes, you can. In this instance, the effects of Salamence LV.X’s Double Fall Poke-Power and the opposing Pokemon’s Expert Belt stack, and you can take 3 Prize cards.

Q: My Confused Weezing with the “Camouflage Gas” Poke-Body was Knocked Out while it had an “Expert Belt” Pokemon Tool attached to it. In this instance, can my opponent take an additional Prize card?
A: No, he can’t. In this instance, since Weezing’s Camouflage Gas Poke-Body prevents the opposing player from taking Prize cards, he can’t take Prize cards for the effect of Expert Belt either.

Q: If a Pokemon holding the “Expert Belt” Pokemon Tool is Knocked Out by Poison damage, can the opponent take an additional Prize card?
A: Yes. He can.

Q: Does a Doduo (SV) with an “Expert Belt” Pokemon Tool attached to it do an additional 20 damage to itself with its “Take-Down” attack?”
A: No, it doesn’t.

Q: If a Salamence (SW) with an “Expert Belt” Pokemon Tool attached to it uses its “Direct Hit” attack, is the damage increased by 20?
A: Yes, it’s increased by 20. The crux of Salamence’s Direct Hit attack is to ignore all effects on the opponent’s Pokemon when doing damage, but this doesn’t negate effects on Salamence. In this case, the damage is increased by 20 from the effect of the Expert Belt Pokemon Tool.

Q: If a Kecleon (RR) with an “Expert Belt” Pokemon Tool attached to it uses its “Triple Smash” attack, after I add 20 damage to Triple Smash’s 10 damage with the effect of the Expert Belt Pokemon Tool, can I add another 20 damage with the effect of the Expert Belt Pokemon Tool each time I flip heads?
A: No, you can’t. The Expert Belt Pokemon Tool’s effect of adding 20 damage happens after the basic calculation, when “damage-altering effects” on the Pokemon using the attack are calculated. In this instance, after adding damage from the coin flips to the Triple Smash attack’s 10 damage, you add the 20 damage for the effect of the Expert Belt Pokemon Tool, so 10+20×3+20=90 damage.

Q: When my Suicune & Entei LEGEND (UL) with an “Expert Belt” Pokemon Tool card attached to it is Knocked Out, how many Prize cards does my opponent take?
A: 3 Prize cards. If Suicune & Entei LEGEND is Knocked Out, your opponent can take 2 Prize cards. Then due to the effect of the Expert Belt Pokemon Tool card, when your opponent takes his Prize cards, he can take 1 additional Prize card, making the total 3.

Q: When my Ho-oh (SW) with an “Expert Belt” Pokemon Tool attached to it had its HP reduced to 0, the coin flip for its “Phoenix Turn” Poke-Power came up heads. In this instance, can my opponent take 2 Prize cards?
A: No, he can’t. In this instance, Ho-oh is considered Knocked Out after the Expert Belt has already been discarded by the effect of Phoenix Turn. Since the Expert Belt is already gone when your opponent goes to take a Prize card for the Knock Out, your opponent can only take 1 Prize card.

Q: When my Ho-oh (SW) with a “Lucky Egg” Pokemon Tool attached to it had its HP reduced to 0, the coin flip for its “Phoenix Turn” Poke-Power came up heads. In this instance, Lucky Egg is discarded by the effect of Phoenix Turn, but since Ho-oh was Knocked Out, can I draw cards until I have 7 cards in my hand?
A: No, you can’t.

Q: My Pokemon that had a “Lucky Egg” Pokemon Tool attached to it was Knocked Out by Giratina LV.X’s (PT) “Darkness Lost” attack. That Pokemon and all cards attached to it were put in the Lost Zone. In this instance, can I draw cards until I have 7 cards in my hand?
A: No, you can’t.

Q: A Water-type Pokemon with a “Lucky Egg” Pokemon Tool attached to it was Knocked Out while Floatzel GL LV.X’s (RR) “Water Rescue” Poke-Body was in effect. In this instance, which happens first, drawing cards until you have 7 cards in your hand with the effect of Lucky Egg, or returning the discarded card to your hand with the effect of the Water Rescue Poke-Body?
A: Floatzel GL LV.X’s owner can choose.

Q: If a Pokemon with a “Lucky Egg” attached to it is Knocked Out by Pachirisu’s (GE) “Smash Short” attack, can I draw cards until I have 7 cards in my hand?
A: No, you can’t. Since the Pokemon is Knocked Out after the Lucky Egg is discarded by the effect of Smash Short, you can’t use the effect of the Lucky Egg.

Q: When a Pokemon with a “Lucky Egg” Pokemon Tool attached to it is Knocked Out, can I stop drawing cards before I have 7 cards in my hand?
A: No, you can’t. You must draw cards until you have 7.

Q: When a Pokemon with a “Lucky Egg” Pokemon Tool attached to it is Knocked Out by damage from an opponent’s attack, can I choose not to draw any cards?
A: No, you must draw.

Q: When a Pokemon with a “Lucky Egg” Pokemon Tool attached to it is Knocked Out by damage from an opponent’s attack, if I have 5 or fewer card in my hand and only 1 card in my deck, can I choose not to draw any cards?
A: No, you can’t.

Q: A Pokemon with a “Lucky Egg” Pokemon Tool attached to it was Knocked Out by damage from an opponent’s attack while on the Bench. In this instance, can I draw cards until I have 7 cards in my hand?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: If I have a Trainer card such as “Helix Fossil” in my hand during setup, do I have to put it into play as a Basic Pokemon?
A: If, during setup, out of the cards drawn from your deck you have no “Basic Pokemon” cards in your hand other than the Helix Fossil Trainer card, you must treat the Helix Fossil Trainer as a Basic Pokemon card and bring it into play as your Active Pokemon. However, if you have a Basic Pokemon other than the Helix Fossil Trainer, you can choose whether or not to play the Helix Fossil Trainer into the Active Position or onto the Bench.



Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional!

Valid CSS!