FAQ

Q: The “Giant Wave” attack was used by Kyogre & Groudon LEGEND, and out of the cards discarded, the only Energy was 1 Double Colorless Energy card. In this instance, how much damage does the Giant Wave attack deal to the opponent’s Benched Pokemon?
A: 30 damage. If an effect specifies “Energy”, it includes both Basic and Special Energies. Moreover, the Giant Wave attack deals 30 damage times the number of Energy cards discarded, not the number of Energy units. So, since the Double Colorless Energy, which provides 2 units of Energy, is still considered 1 Energy card, the amount of damage dealt is 30 damage.

Q: Can I use Kyogre & Groudon LEGEND’s “Giant Wave” attack when my opponent has no Benched Pokemon?
A: Yes, you can use it. In this instance, you discard 5 cards from your opponent’s deck, and the attack terminates.

Q: Can I use Palkia & Dialga LEGEND’s “Manipulate Time” attack to make the opponent have 7 or more Prize cards?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: When my opponent has 1 card in his deck, can I use Palkia & Dialga LEGEND’s “Manipulate Time” attack to place cards from the opponent’s deck in the opponent’s Prize stack?
A:Yes, you can. Put 1 card from the opponent’s deck in the opponent’s Prize stack.

Q: When I used Bronzong’s “Legendary Ritual” attack to look at my deck, there wasn’t a set (top and bottom) of a Legendary Pokemon’s card. In this instance, if one part of a Legendary Pokemon’s card is in my deck, can I put it in my hand?
A: No, you can’t. When you view your deck, the effect of Bronzong’s Legendary Ritual attack can only put a combined set consisting of the top and bottom of a Legendary Pokemon’s card into your hand. If only one part is in your deck, you can’t put it in your hand.

Q: I used Celebi’s “Breath of the Forest” Poke-Power and attached a Grass Energy from my hand. On the same turn, can I attach the Energy that I’m allowed to attach from my hand once during my turn?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: Can I attach a Rainbow Energy from my hand to one of my Pokemon with the effect of Celebi’s “Breath of the Forest” Poke-Power?
A: No, you can’t. If Rainbow Energy is in your hand, it isn’t treated as a Grass-type Energy.

Q: I attached a Grass Energy from my hand to Roserade (UL) with the effect of Celebi’s “Breath of the Forest” Poke-Power. In this instance, can I use Roserade’s “Energy Signal” Poke-Power?
A: Yes, you can. Even if a Grass Energy is attached from your hand through the effect of a Poke-Power, you can use the Energy Signal Poke-Power.

Q: Celebi used the “Time Circle” attack. On my opponent’s next turn, a Stage 2 Evolved Pokemon that skipped its Stage 1 Evolution via the effect of the Trainer card “Rare Candy” used an attack on Celebi. In this instance, is the attack’s damage prevented?
A: Yes, it’s prevented. Even if it skipped its Stage 1 Evolution with the effect of the Trainer card Rare Candy, since a Stage 2 Evolved Pokemon is using the attack, the damage is prevented by the effect of Celebi’s Time Circle attack.

Q: Celebi used the “Time Circle” attack. On my opponent’s next turn, the Pokemon LV.X of a Stage 2 Evolved Pokemon used an attack on Celebi. In this instance, is the attack’s damage prevented?
A: Yes, it’s prevented. Since a Pokemon LV.X that Leveled Up from a Stage 2 Evolved Pokemon is still considered a Stage 2 Evolved Pokemon, the damage is prevented by the effect of Celebi’s Time Circle attack. The same goes for the a Stage 1 Evolved Pokemon’s Pokemon LV.X.

Q: Does a Celebi that used the “Time Circle” attack during my previous turn take damage during my opponent’s next turn from the attack of an opponent’s Pikachu that Evolved from Pichu via the “Baby Evolution” Poke-Power?
A: Yes, it takes damage. Even if it Evolved from Pichu via the Baby Evolution Poke-Power, Pikachu is a Basic Pokemon, so the effect of Celebi’s Time Circle attack doesn’t work and Celebi takes damage from the attack.

Q: When my opponent had 5 Pokemon on his Bench, I played Ditto onto my Bench, and my opponent discarded 1 of his Pokemon with the effect of the “Ditto Molecule” Poke-Body. In this instance, do I take a Prize card?
A: No, you don’t. Ditto’s Ditto Molecule Poke-Body only discards Pokemon, it doesn’t have the effect of Knocking Out the Pokemon. For that reason, you can’t take a Prize card.

Q: I played Ditto on my Bench while my opponent had 5 Pokemon on his Bench. In this instance, do I get to choose the opponent’s Benched Pokemon that gets discarded with the effect of the “Ditto Molecule” Poke-Body?
A: No, you don’t. The one who chooses the Pokemon to be discarded is that Pokemon’s owner.

Q: My Active Electrode used its “Energy-Energy Dynamite” Poke-Power. When it did, Electrode was Knocked Out, but can I attach Energy to my Pokemon prior to advancing my next Benched Pokemon to the Active position?
A: Yes, you can. Electrode is Knocked Out after the effect of Energy-Energy Dynamite resolves.

Q: A Double Colorless Energy card was among the cards I saw with the effect of Electrode’s “Energy-Energy Dynamite” Poke-Power. In this instance, can I attach that Double Colorless Energy to one of my Pokemon?
A: Yes, you can. If an effect specifies “Energy”, it includes both Basic and Special Energies.

Q: Can my opponent take a Prize card when my Electrode is Knocked Out by the effect of its “Energy-Energy Dynamite” Poke-Power?
A: Yes, he can. Even if your Electrode is Knocked Out by the effect of its Energy-Energy Dynamite Poke-Power, since one of your Pokemon was Knocked Out, your opponent can take 1 Prize card.

Q: I attached a Rainbow Energy from my hand to Golduck. At this point, can I heal Golduck with the effect of its “Damp” Poke-Body?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: When I attach a Rainbow Energy from my hand to a Golduck that has 10 HP remaining, which happens first: placing 1 damage counter with Rainbow Energy’s effect, or restoring Golduck’s HP by 20 with the effect of the “Damp” Poke-Body? Also, if Rainbow Energy’s process is first, is Golduck Knocked Out?
A: It doesn’t matter if 2 damage counters are removed first or 1 damage counter is placed first. Golduck’s owner can choose. Also, since Knock Outs are processed after all other processes are complete, even if Rainbow Energy’s effect is processed first, Golduck isn’t Knocked Out.

Q: My Grumpig used its “Psychic Lock” attack on an opponent’s Active Pokemon that had an Unown G (GE) attached to it as a Pokemon Tool card. Can the opponent’s Active Pokemon use its Poke-Powers during my opponent’s next turn?
A: No, it can’t. The effect of Grumpig’s Psychic Lock attack is an effect that rests on the opposing player. So, the player on the side that was hit by the Psychic Lock attack can’t use Poke-Power’s during his next turn.

Q: If my Grumpig uses its “Manipulate Bench” attack when my opponent’s only Benched Pokemon is a Kyogre & Groudon LEGEND, does my opponent flip 2 coins?
A: No, he doesn’t. As long as a Legendary Pokemon’s card is in play, the top and bottom are treated as 1 Pokemon, so only 1 coin can be flipped for the Manipulate Bench attack.

Q: If I use Luvdisc’s “Mysterious Wave” attack on an opponent’s Active Pokemon that has no damage counters on it, can I deal 30 damage?
A: Yes, you can. Even if you can’t restore the opponent’s Active Pokemon’s HP, you can deal damage.

Q: Can I use Machamp’s “Fighting Touch” Poke-Power, and switch Machamp with my Active Pokemon without moving any Energy?
A: No, you can’t. If you use the Fighting Touch Poke-Power, you must move the Fighting-type Energy that’s attached to your Active Pokemon onto Machamp. After that, switch Machamp with your Active Pokemon.

Q: Can I use Machamp’s “Fighting Touch” Poke-Power, and not switch Machamp with my Active Pokemon when I move my Active Pokemon’s Energy onto Machamp?
A: No, you can’t. If you use the Fighting Touch Poke-Power, you move all of the Fighting Energy that’s on your Active Pokemon onto Machamp, and afterwards, you must switch Machamp and your Active Pokemon.

Q: Can I use Machamp’s “Fighting Touch” Poke-Power, and move a Rainbow Energy attached to my Active Pokemon onto Machamp?
A: Yes, you can. As long as Rainbow Energy is attached to a Pokemon, it functions as every Type of Energy including Fighting Energy, therefore it can be moved with the effect of the Fighting Touch Poke-Power.

Q: My Machoke used its “Knuckle Down” attack on an opponent’s Pokemon with a Fighting-type Resistance while the Stadium “Ruins of Alph” was in play. In this instance, do I apply Resistance?
A: Yes, you apply Resistance. If the Stadium Ruins of Alph is in play, the opponent’s Pokemon’s Resistance becomes 0. However, in this case, because of Machoke’s Knuckle Down’s “ignore all effects on the opponent’s Active Pokemon when dealing damage” effect, the Ruins of Alph Stadium’s “all Resistances vanish” effect also disappears. So, the opponent’s Pokemon’s Resistance is applied.

Q: When I have 0 cards in my deck, can I use Magmar’s “Eruption” attack to discard 1 card from the top of my opponent’s deck?
A: Yes, you can. Discard 1 card from your opponent’s deck, and if that card is an Energy, do 20 damage to the opponent’s Active Pokemon.

Q: Marowak used its “Bone Impact” attack while the Stadium “Ruins of Alph” was in play. In this instance, is Resistance ignored during damage calculation due to the effect of the Ruins of Alph Stadium?
A: Yes, it’s ignored. After dealing damage with the Bone Impact attack, discard the Stadium with the attack’s effect.

Q: If one of a Legendary Pokemon’s cards is in the section of my deck that I view with Nidoran F’s “Look For Friends” attack, can I put that card in my hand?
A: Yes, you can. Since a Legendary Pokemon’s top and bottom cards are each treated as 1 Pokemon card while in the deck, hand, discard pile, or Prize stack, you can put it in your hand.

Q: When I used Pidgey’s “Herald” attack, there weren’t any Pokemon in my deck. In this instance, can I choose not to return the Pidgey that used the attack to my deck?
A: No, return it to your deck.

Q: When I use Pidgey’s “Herald” attack, can I put either the top or bottom (1 card) of a Legendary Pokemon’s card into my hand?
A: Yes, you can. If a Legendary Pokemon’s cards are in your deck, either the top or bottom can be selected as 1 single card and put into your hand.

Q: When I use Sharpedo’s “Plunder” attack, if the coin flips are tails, can I deal damage?
A: Yes, you can. Deal 20 damage and the attack ends.

Q: If I use Skorupi’s “Vice Stun” attack and get tails on the coin flip, can I deal 30 damage to the opponent’s Active Pokemon?
A: No, you can’t. Since the Vice Stun attack fails on a tails coin flip, you can’t deal damage to the the opponent’s Active Pokemon or make it Paralyzed.

Q: Can I use a “Moo-Moo Milk” (HS) Trainer card in my hand while Solrock’s “Heal Block” Poke-Body is working?
A: Yes, you can use it. However, your Pokemon can’t be healed.

Q: While Solrock’s “Heal Block” Poke-Body is working, I use a “Life Herb” (UL) Trainer card in my hand, and flip heads. In this instance, I can’t restore my Pokemon’s HP, but can I remove Special Conditions?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: While Solrock’s “Heal Block” Poke-Body was working, my Cherubi (SF) used its “Nap” attack. In this instance, can I remove damage counters from Cherubi?
A: No, you can’t.

Q: Can I use a “Potion” Trainer card in my hand while Solrock’s “Heal Block” Poke-Body is working?
A: Yes, you can use it. However, you can’t remove damage counters.

Q: While Solrock’s “Heal Block” Poke-Body is working, can I use Espeon’s (L2) “Hints of Sun” attack to move damage counters?
A: Yes, you can. Effects that move damage counters aren’t healing. So, Solrock’s Heal Block Poke-Body doesn’t work, and you can move damage counters with the Hints of Sun attack.

Q: While Solrock’s “Heal Block” Poke-Body is working, can I use Cresselia LV.X’s (GE) “Full Moon Dance” Poke-Power to move damage counters?
A: Yes, you can. Effects that move damage counters aren’t healing. So, Solrock’s Heal Block Poke-Body doesn’t work, and you can move damage counters with the Full Moon Dance Poke-Power.

Q: My Tentacruel, which Evolved during this turn while on my Bench, was brought Active and used its “Evolve Tent” attack. In this instance, can I make the opponent’s Active Pokemon Poisoned and Paralyzed?
A: Yes, you can. Regardless of where it Evolves—in the Active position or on the Bench—if the Evolve Tent attack is used on the turn when Tentacruel Evolves from Tentacool, the opponent’s Active Pokemon can be made Poisoned and Paralyzed.

Q: My opponent’s Active Pokemon is a Victreebel with the “Tangled Vines” Poke-Body, and my Active Pokemon is a Yanma with the “Free Flight” Poke-Body. In this instance, what is Yanma’s retreat cost?
A: It’s 0. If effects that add a number of units (such as “increase by 2”) stack with effects that “reduce to 0”, the “reduce to 0” effect takes priority.

Q: When I have a Victreebel with the “Tangled Vines” Poke-Body as my Active Pokemon and an Ariados (MT) with the “Sticky” Poke-Body on my Bench, is my opponent’s Active Pokemon’s retreat cost increased by 3?
A: Yes, it’s increased by 3. Since Victreebel’s Tangled Vines Poke-Body and Ariados’ Sticky Poke-Body are both in effect, the opponent’s Active Pokemon’s retreat cost is increased by 3.

Q: When a Wailmer with the Trainer card “Plus Power” attached to it uses its “Double Shot” attack, can it hit the opponent’s Active Pokemon and 1 of the opponent’s Benched Pokemon for 30 damage apiece?
A: No, it can’t. The Trainer card Plus Power only adds 10 damage when the opponent’s Active Pokemon is hit by an attack’s damage. As a result, the opponent’s Active Pokemon is hit for 30 damage, and the Benched Pokemon is hit for 20 damage.

Q: When both players have no cards in their hands, can an attack’s Energy requirement be eliminated by the effect of Yanmega’s “Insight” Poke-Body?
A: Yes, it can. If both players have no cards in their hands, they have the same number of cards.

Q: My Yanmega was hit by Pidgeot’s “Head Wind” attack. On my next turn, if both players have the same number of cards in their hands, what is the Energy requirement for using Yanmega’s “Sonicboom” attack?
A: It’s 0. If effects that add a number of units (such as “increase by 2”) stack with effects that “reduce to 0”, the “reduce to 0” effect takes priority.

Q: I used Smeargle’s (L2) “Portrait” Poke-Power when both players had the same number of Prize cards. My opponent had the Supporter card “Twins” in his hand, but can I use it with the effect of the Portrait Poke-Power?
A: No, you can’t.

Q: Can I use the Trainer card “Junk Arm” when I have no Trainer cards in my discard pile?
A: No, you can’t.

Q: My Pokemon that had “Rescue Energy” attached to it was Knocked Out by damage from an opponent’s Pokemon’s attack. At that time, could I choose not to return my Pokemon to my hand?
A: No, you couldn’t. If a Pokemon with Rescue Energy attached to it is Knocked Out by damage from an opponent’s Pokemon’s attack, that Pokemon must be returned to your hand.

Q: When I Knock Out an opponent’s Pokemon that has a “Rescue Energy” attached to it, and it’s returned to my opponent’s hand, can I still take a Prize card?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: When my Stage 2 Evolved Pokemon with a “Rescue Energy” attached to it is Knocked Out by damage from an opponent’s attack, can I return the pre-evolved Basic Pokemon and Stage 1 Evolution card to my hand?
A: Yes, you can. You can return the Basic Pokemon card and the Stage 1 Evolution Pokemon card to your hand.

Q: My Pokemon with “Rescue Energy” attached to it was Knocked Out by Gyarados’ (HS) “Hyper Beam” attack. At that time, Rescue Energy was discarded by the effect of the Hyper Beam attack, but can I return the Pokemon to my hand?
A: No, you can’t. Rescue Energy’s effect works at the point when Knock Outs are processed. In this instance, since the Pokemon is Knocked Out after Rescue Energy is discarded by the effect of Gyarados’ Hyper Beam attack, when the Knock Out is processed, Rescue Energy’s effect doesn’t work.

Q: My Drifblim (L2) with a “Rescue Energy” attached to it used its “Balloon Tackle” attack and was Knocked Out by the self-damage. In this instance, can I return my Drifblim to my hand?
A: Yes, you can. Rescue Energy’s effect works even when your own Pokemon’s attacks deal damage.

Q: My Pokemon that had “Rescue Energy” attached to it was Knocked Out by damage from Darkrai & Cresselia LEGEND’s (LL) “Lost Crisis” attack. In this instance, which happens first, putting my Pokemon in the Lost Zone with the attack’s effect, or returning it to my hand with the effect of Rescue Energy?
A: The order of resolution for the effects can be decided by the owner of the Pokemon with Rescue Energy attached to it. Even if the Pokemon is returned to your hand, any Energy, Pokemon Tools, etc. attached to that Pokemon are still placed in the Lost Zone by Lost Crisis’ effect.



Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional!

Valid CSS!