FAQ

Q: The “Giant Wave” attack was used by Kyogre & Groudon LEGEND, and out of the cards discarded, the only Energy was 1 Double Colorless Energy card. In this instance, how much damage does the Giant Wave attack deal to the opponent’s Benched Pokemon?
A: 30 damage. If an effect specifies “Energy”, it includes both Basic and Special Energies. Moreover, the Giant Wave attack deals 30 damage times the number of Energy cards discarded, not the number of Energy units. So, since the Double Colorless Energy, which provides 2 units of Energy, is still considered 1 Energy card, the amount of damage dealt is 30 damage.

Q: Can I use Kyogre & Groudon LEGEND’s “Giant Wave” attack when my opponent has no Benched Pokemon?
A: Yes, you can use it. In this instance, you discard 5 cards from your opponent’s deck, and the attack terminates.

Q: Are the Beldum from HS Unleashed and the Beldum from HS Undaunted considered to be cards with the same name?
A: Yes, they are considered to be cards with the same name. Even if the illustration and attacks are different, they are considered to be cards with the same name. As a result, you can run up to 2 total in a 30-card half deck, and up to 4 total in a 60-card standard deck.

Q: If the coin flips for Bellossom’s “Dance ‘til Dawn” attack are all tails, and the attack doesn’t do any damage, does Bellossom still fall Asleep?
A: Yes, it falls Asleep.

Q: When a Drifblim with a “Defender” attached to it uses its “Balloon Tackle” attack, is Drifblim’s self-damage reduced by 20 due to the effect of Defender?
A: Yes, it’s reduced by 20.

Q: Can Drifblim’s “Take Away” attack be used when neither player has any Pokemon in play except for their Active Pokemon?
A: Yes, it can. If it’s used, the game ends in a draw.

Q: Can I use Drifblim’s “Take Away” attack when the opponent has no Benched Pokemon? Also, if I can use it, what would happen if there are no Benched Pokemon on either side?
A: Yes, you can use it. As long as Driblim has the necessary Energy for the Take Away attack attached to it, the Take Away attack can be used even if you or your opponent have no Benched Pokemon. Also, if there are no Benched Pokemon on either side, since neither player can bring a new Pokemon into the Active position, the game is a draw.

Q: When the opponent’s Pokemon doesn’t receive effects from attacks and can’t be returned to the deck with Drifblim’s “Take Away” attack, do I return Drifblim to my deck?
A: Yes, return it.

Q: Can I remove damage counters from more than one of my Pokemon with Espeon’s “Solar Suggestion” attack, and place them on my opponent’s side?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: Can I place 1 damage counter apiece on 4 of my opponent’s Pokemon with Espeon’s “Solar Suggestion” attack?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: If I choose 4 damage counters on my Pokemon (with Espeon’s “Solar Suggestion” attack), can I then place 3 damage counters on my opponent’s Pokemon?
A: No, you can’t. Place the same number of damage counters on your opponent’s Pokemon as you removed from your own Pokemon.

Q: When there are 3 or fewer damage counters on my Pokemon, can I use Espeon’s “Solar Suggestion” attack to move 3 or fewer damage counters onto my opponent’s Pokemon?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: Can Espeon’s “Solar Suggestion” attack place damage counters on a Jolteon that can’t be hit by effects due to the effect of its “Agility” attack? If I can’t place them, what do I do with the damage counters I removed from my Pokemon?
A: You can’t place damage counters on Jolteon, but you can remove damage counters from your own Pokemon. If you select a Jolteon that’s under the status of not receiving effects, the damage counters that would be placed on Jolteon disappear from play.

Q: Can I use Espeon’s “Solar Suggestion” attack when my opponent’s only Pokemon in play is a Toxicroak G (PT) with a working “Anticipation” Poke-Body?
A: Yes, you can. You can’t place damage counters on Toxicroak G, but you can remove damage counters from your own Pokemon. If the Anticipation Poke-Body is in effect, the damage counters that would be placed on Toxicroak G disappear from play.

Q: If the only Rainbow Energy attached to Flareon is discarded with the effect of its “Flamethrower” attack, can it do damage to a Scizor that has the “Red Armor” Poke-Body?
A: No, it can’t. In the order of operations, effects of attacks occur after damage. Since Flareon has a Rainbow Energy attached to it at the time when damage is dealt, Siczor can’t be damaged due to the effect of its Red Armor Poke-Body. After damage would be dealt, the Rainbow Energy is discarded from Flareon as an effect of the Flamethrower attack.

Q: If I use the “Everyone Explode Now” attack of a Forretress that has 1 Special Metal Energy card attached to it, is Forretress’ self-damage reduced by 10 by the effect of Special Metal Energy?
A: Yes, it’s reduced by 10.

Q: When I use Forretress’ “Everyone Explode Now” attack, do I also count the Forretress that used the attack? If I count it, does the Forretress that used the attack also receive 30 damage?
A: Yes, you count it. Moreover, the Forretress that used the attack also receives 30 damage.

Q: While the opponent’s only Benched Pokemon was a Toxicroak G (PT) with an “Anticipation” Poke-Body, my Forretress used its “Gyro Ball” attack and I chose to switch it with one of my Benched Pokemon. In this instance, can the opponent’s Active Pokemon be switched with Toxicroak G?
A: Yes, it can. Since Forretress’ Gyro Ball attack places an effect on the opponent’s Active Pokemon, even if Pokemon on the opponent’s Bench have conditions that prevent effects of attacks, the switch can occur.

Q: While my opponent’s Active Pokemon was a Toxicroak G (PT) with an “Anticipation” Poke-Body, my Forretress used its “Gyro Ball” attack and I chose to switch it with one of my Benched Pokemon. In this instance, can the opponent’s Toxicroak G be switched with one of the opponent’s Benched Pokemon?
A: No, it can’t. Since Toxicroak G’s Anticipation Poke-Body is working, the effect of Forretress’ Gyro Ball attack can’t hit it, and Toxicroak G can’t be switched with one of the opponent’s Benched Pokemon.

Q: If the damage dealt by Gliscor’s “Ninja Fang” attack is reduced to 0 by damage-reducing effects like Special Metal Energy or the Trainer card “Defender”, can the opponent’s Active Pokemon be Paralyzed?
A: No, it can’t. If Ninja Fang does 10 damage or more, the opponent’s Active Pokemon can be Paralyzed.

Q: With Gloom’s “Miracle Powder” attack, can I choose a Poison condition that places 4 damage counters, similar to Crobat’s (UL) “Severe Poison” attack?
A: No, you can’t. You can only choose a Poison condition that places 1 damage counter with Gloom’s Miracle Powder attack.

Q: On my previous turn, my Beautifly’s (PT) “Colorful Powder” attack made the opponent’s Active Pokemon Poisoned, Burned, and Asleep; then on my following turn, I used Gloom’s “Miracle Powder” attack and got heads on the coin toss. At this point, am I limited to choosing the Special Conditions not currently on the opponent’s Pokemon— Paralysis and Confusion—for the effect of the Miracle Powder attack?
A: No, you can choose any 1 from among Poison, Burn, Asleep, Paralysis, and Confusion, and afflict the opponent’s Active Pokemon with the chosen Special Condition. However, since Sleep, Paralysis, and Confusion can’t be stacked, if you choose one of those, the original Sleep would be overwritten by the newer condition. Also, two Poison conditions and two Burn conditions don’t stack, the new one overwrites the old.

Q: On my previous turn, the opponent’s Active Pokemon became afflicted by Poison that places 4 damage counters in between turns, as an effect of my Crobat’s “Severe Poison” (UL) attack; then on my following turn, I used Gloom’s “Miracle Powder” attack and got heads on the coin toss. At this point, if I choose the Poison condition with the effect of the Miracle Powder attack, how many damage counters do I place in between turns?
A: 1 damage counter is placed in between turns. The Poison that places 4 damage counters gets overwritten with the Poison that places 1 counter.

Q: If I choose to do the additional 20 damage with Hariyama’s “Backward Belt Throw” attack, and my Hariyama is Knocked Out, can I still add the 20 damage?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: Which player chooses the card to discard with the effect of Houndoom’s “Dark Roar” attack, the owner of the Houndoom who used the attack, or the opposing player?
A: The opposing player.

Q: If the opponent’s Pokemon was hit by Crobat’s “Severe Poison” (UL) attack and inflicted with Poison that places 4 damage counters in between turns, does Leafeon’s “Miasma Wind” attack do 200 damage to the opponent’s Pokemon?
A: No, it doesn’t. Even though it’s a Poison that places 2 or more damage counters in between turns, it’s considered 1 Special Condition.

Q: Can I discard a Rainbow Energy attached to Magcargo with its “Lava Stream” attack?
A: Yes, you can. As long as Rainbow Energy is attached to a Pokemon, it provides 1 unit of every Type of Energy, so it can be discarded.

Q: The description of Magcargo’s “Lava Stream attack reads, “Discard any number of Fire Energy attached to this Pokemon,” but can I choose to not discard any Fire Energy?
A: Yes, you can. If “as much as you like” is printed in a card’s explanatory text, you can also choose to not discard any cards.

Q: If the opponent’s Active Pokemon has no Energy attached to it, can it still be Paralyzed by the effect of Mawile’s “Destructive Jaw” attack?
A: Yes, it can. Even if Energy couldn’t be discarded from the opponent’s Active Pokemon, it can still become Paralyzed.

Q: If Mawile uses its “Destructive Jaw” attack on a Steelix (UL) with the “Perfect Metal” Poke-Body, and flips heads, can I discard an Energy attached to Steelix?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: When my opponent’s Misdreavus uses the “Dual Draw” attack, can I choose not to draw any cards from my deck?
A: No, you can’t. You must draw 3 cards.

Q: Mismagius’ “Poltergeist” attack specifies “Trainers”, “Supporters”, and “Stadiums”; does that include “TMs” and “Pokemon Tools”?
A: Yes, it includes them. TMs and Pokemon Tools are included under the umbrella of Trainers.

Q: On my previous turn, the opponent’s Active Pokemon was hit by Muk’s “Sludge Drag” attack, and became Poisoned and Confused. If I used Muk’s “Pester” attack during my next turn, could I add 60 damage?
A: No, you couldn’t. Even if the opponent’s Active Pokemon is affected by 2 or more Special Conditions, the amount of damage that can be added is 30.

Q: Can I use Muk’s “Sludge Drag” attack to choose a Steelix with the “Perfect Metal” Poke-Body?
A: Yes, you can. Steelix is switched with the opponent’s Active Pokemon, then the attack’s effect ends.

Q: I used Pineco’s “Focus Energy” attack. On my next turn, I Evolved that Pineco into Forretress and attached the Pokemon Tool “Memory Berry”(PT). If Forretress used the “Surprise Attack” attack from its pre-evolution, Pineco, would it do 80 base damage?
A: No, it would do 40 base damage. If a Pokemon that’s under the effect of an attack Evolves, Devolves, or Levels Up, the effect of the attack vanishes. So, when Pineco Evolved into Forretress, the effect of the Focus Energy attack vanished, and the base damage for the Surprise Attack became 40.

Q: When I switch a Prize card and a card from my deck with the effect of Rotom’s “Mischievous Trick” Poke-Power, can I look at either card?
A: No, you can’t. Keep both cards face-down when you switch them.

Q: Can I use Rotom’s “Mischievous Trick” Poke-Power when I have no cards in my deck, to put a Prize card into my deck?
A: No, you can’t.

Q: Can a Tyranitar (UL) with a Special Darkness Energy attached to it use its “Power Claw” attack to deal damage to a Scizor that has the “Red Armor” Poke-Body?
A: Yes, it can. Since Tyranitar’s Power Claw attack doesn’t apply effects on the opponent’s Active Pokemon, the effect of Scizor’s Red Armor Poke-Body is also ignored, and it deals damage.

Q: Can my Tyranitar (UL) with a Special Darkness Energy and a Double Colorless Energy attached to it deal damage to an opponent’s Scizor that has the “Red Armor” Poke-Body, with its “Power Claw” attack?
A: Yes, it can. Since Tyranitar’s Power Claw attack doesn’t apply effects on the opponent’s Active Pokemon, the effect of Scizor’s Red Armor Poke-Body is also ignored, and it deals damage.

Q: Can my Garchomp C LV.X (SV) with the Pokemon Tool card “Team Galactic’s Invention G-101: Energy Gain”(PT) and 1 Double Colorless Energy card attached to it use its “Dragon Dive” attack to deal 80 damage to a Scizor with the “Red Armor” Poke-Body?
A: No, it can’t. The Red Armor Poke-Body goes into effect if an opponent’s Pokemon has any Special Energy attached to it at the point when the opponent announces an attack. In this instance, since Garchomp C LV.X has a Double Colorless Energy attached to it at the point when the Dragon Dive attack is announced, the Red Armor Poke-Body takes effect, and Scizor can’t be hit for 80 damage.

Q: Can I use the “Blindside” attack of my Honchkrow with a Special Darkness Energy attached to it to deal damage to a Scizor that has damage counters on it and the “Red Armor” Poke-Body?
A: No, you can’t. The Blindside attack’s explanatory text: “Do 50 damage to 1 of your opponent’s Pokemon that already has damage counters on it” isn’t an effect of an attack, but damage from an attack. Since the Red Armor Poke-Body’s effect prevents damage from the attacks of Pokemon with Special Energy attached to them, you can’t deal damage to Scizor.

Q: When a Scyther that used its “Afterimage Strike” attack during my previous turn is hit by the opponent’s Gliscor’s “Poison Jab” attack on my opponent’s following turn, I flip a coin, and the result is heads. In this instance, Scyther receives no damage, but does it become Poisoned?
A: Yes, it becomes Poisoned. Scyther doesn’t take damage from attacks due to the effect of the Afterimage Strike attack, but since it does receive effects of attacks, it becomes Poisoned.

Q: When Ledian’s (HS) “Swift” attack does damage to Scyther, does it deal damage to Scyther without applying the effect of “Afterimage Strike”?
A: Yes, it does. Since Ledian’s Swift attack does damage without applying Weakness, Resistance, or effects on the opponent’s Active Pokemon, it also ignores the effect of Scyther’s Afterimage Strike, and deals damage.

Q: My opponent’s Scyther used the attack “Afterimage Strike” during my opponent’s previous turn. When I do damage during my turn, can my Active Shiftry’s (RR) “Unlucky Wind” Poke-Body treat the coin flip as tails?
A: No, it can’t. The opponent’s coin flips are only treated as tails by Shiftry’s Unlucky Wind Poke-Body when the opponent flips a coin during his own turn. Since the coin flip for the effect of Scyther’s Afterimage Strike occurs during Shiftry’s owner’s turn, it isn’t treated as tails by the Unlucky Wind Poke-Body.

Q: Can I choose a Special Metal Energy from my deck with Skarmory’s “Steel Coat” attack?
A: Yes, you can. If the word “Energy” is written, it includes both Basic and Special Energy.

Q: When I use Skuntank’s “Stun Gas” attack, which doesn’t do any basic damage, can I add 10 damage for the effect of Special Darkness Energy?
A: No, you can’t. When an attack doesn’t do damage, Special Darkness Energy’s effect of adding 10 damage can’t be applied.

Q: When I use Slugma’s “Active Volcano” Poke-Power, if the discarded card is a Rainbow Energy, can I attach it to Slugma?
A: No, you can’t. Since the Rainbow Energy is treated as 1 unit of Colorless Energy at the time of discard, it can’t be attached to Slugma.

Q: When I use the effect of Smeargle’s “Portrait” Poke-Power to look at my opponent’s hand, can I terminate the Poke-Power’s effect without choosing a Supporter card?
A: No, you can’t. You must choose 1 card when you use the effect.

Q: During my turn, if I use the effect of a Supporter card in my opponent’s hand via the effect of Smeargle’s “Portrait” Poke-Power, afterwards, during the same turn, can I also use a Supporter card in my hand?
A: Yes, you can. Even though you used a Supporter card’s effect via Smeargle’s Portrait Poke-Power, since it was used as the effect of a Poke-Power, you can also play 1 Supporter card from your hand during the same turn.

Q: Can I use Smeargle’s “Portrait” Poke-Power to choose the Supporter “Engineer’s Adjustments” from my opponent’s hand, when I have no Energy cards in my hand?
A: Yes, you can. However, since you can’t discard Energy, the Poke-Power’s effect ends upon choosing the card.

Q: Can I choose the Supporter “Flower Shop Lady” from my opponent’s hand with Smeargle’s “Portrait” Poke-Power, when I have no Pokemon or Energy in my discard pile?
A: Yes, you can. However, since you have no Pokemon or Energy in your discard pile, the Poke-Power’s effect ends upon choosing the card.

Q: Can I choose the Supporter “Fisherman” from my opponent’s hand with the effect of Smeargle’s “Portrait” Poke-Power, when I have no Energy in my discard pile?
A: Yes, you can. However, since you have no Energy in your discard pile, the Poke-Power’s effect ends upon choosing the card.

Q: If I use the effect of the Supporter “Cheerleader’s Cheer” as an effect of Smeargle’s “Portrait” Poke-Power, can I identify the card that my opponent draws with Cheerleader’s Cheer, using the effect of the Portrait Poke-Power?
A: No, you can’t.

Q: If I use Smeargle’s “Portrait” Poke-Power to choose the Supporter “Engineer’s Adjustments” when I have Energy in my hand, can I terminate the Poke-Power’s effect without discarding a card? Also, if I have no Energy in my hand, do I show my hand to my opponent?
A: No, you can’t. When you choose the Supporter Engineer’s Adjustments from your opponent’s hand with the effect of the Portrait Poke-Power, if you have an Energy in your hand, you must discard it. Also, if you have no Energy in your hand, it isn’t necessary to show your hand to your opponent. In this case, the effect of the Poke-Power ends upon choosing the Supporter Engineer’s Adjustments.

Q: If I have a Sneasel with a Special Darkness Energy attached, and all of the coins for its “Fury Swipes” attack are tails, can I do 10 damage with the effect of Special Darkness Energy?
A: No, you can’t. If an attack’s basic damage is 0 or less, damage calculation ends there, and damage can’t be dealt.

Q: If I use Togekiss’ “Blessed Wings” attack when I have no Pokemon in play that have been damaged by attacks, can I return Togekiss to my deck?
A: Yes, you can. Return Togekiss and all cards attached to Togekiss to your deck, then shuffle your deck and the attack ends.

Q: Can an Umbreon, which currently receives no damage or effects from the attacks of my opponent’s Pokemon with Poke-Powers and Poke-Bodies, due to the effect of its “Moonlight Fang” attack, be damaged by the “Feint Attack” of a Weavile with the “Claw Snag” Poke-Power?
A: Yes, it can. Since Weavile’s Feint Attack deals damage without applying Weakness, Resistance, or effects on the opponent’s Active Pokemon, it also ignores the effect of the Moonlight Fang attack and can deal damage.

Q: If Mew (LL) uses the “Moonlight Fang” attack of an Umbreon in the Lost Zone via its “Lost Link” Poke-Body, does it receive damage and effects of attacks from my opponent’s Pokemon with any Poke-Powers or Poke-Bodies during my opponent’s next turn?
A: No, it doesn’t. The Lost Link Poke-Body’s effect causes Mew to receive all effects of the attack it used. Since Mew itself receives the effect of the Moonlight Fang attack due to the Lost Link Poke-Body’s effect, Mew doesn’t receive damage or effects of attacks from the opponent’s Pokemon that have any Poke-Powers or Poke-Bodies.

Q: Can I choose a Special Darkness Energy card from my deck with Unown’s “DARK” Poke-Power?
A: Yes, you can. When the word “Energy” is written, it includes both Basic and Special Energy.

Q: A Vespiquen that used its “Mach Wind” attack was hit by Grimer’s “Sticky Liquid” attack during my opponent’s next turn. In this instance, what is Vespiquen’s retreat cost during my next turn?
A: It has no retreat cost. When effects that increase something by a particular amount, like “…is increased by 1 unit” are stacked on top of effects that make something “vanish”, the “vanish” effect takes priority.

Q: Can I attach the DP-series TM “TM TS-2” and Pokemon Tool “Amulet Coin” from my hand to my Pokemon while a Vileplume with the “Allergy Flower” Poke-Body is in play?
A: No, you can’t. TM cards and Pokemon Tool cards are considered Trainer cards.

Q: Can Weavile’s “Feint Attack” deal damage to a Pichu (HS) whose “Sweet Sleeping Face” Poke-Body is in effect?
A: Yes, it can. Since Weavile’s Feint Attack deals damage without applying Weakness, Resistance, or effects on the opponent’s Active Pokemon, it also ignores the effect of the Sweet Sleeping Face Poke-Body and deals 30 damage.

Q: Can I deal damage to an opponent’s Pokemon that has the Pokemon Tool card “Bench Shield” (PA) attached to it, with Weavile’s “Feint Attack”?
A: Yes, you can. Since Weavile’s Feint Attack deals damage without applying the effects on the opponent’s Pokemon, the effect of the Bench Shield Pokemon Tool is also ignored, and damage can be dealt.

Q: If my a Weavile that has 1 Special Darkness Energy attached to it does damage to an opponent’s Benched Pokemon with its “Feint Attack”, is the damage increased by 10?
A: No, it isn’t increased. Only damage done to Active Pokemon is increased by 10.

Q: After I use the effect of Weavile’s “Claw Snag” Poke-Power to look at my opponent’s hand, can I terminate the Poke-Power without choosing a card to discard?
A: No, you can’t. You must discard 1 card from the opponent’s hand.

Q: When I have 2 or fewer Pokemon, or 2 or fewer Basic Energy cards in my discard pile, can I return Pokemon and Basic Energy to my deck with the effect of the Supporter card “Flower Shop Lady”?
A: Yes, you can. In a case where you have 2 or fewer Pokemon, or 2 or fewer Basic Energy cards in your discard pile, you can return all of them to your deck. However, if you have 3 or more apiece of Pokemon and Basic Energy in your discard pile, you must return 3 Pokemon cards and 3 Basic Energy cards to your deck.

Q: When I have 1 Pokemon and 1 Basic Energy in my discard pile, can I use the Supporter card “Flower Shop Lady” and return all of the cards to my deck? Also, if I don’t have 1 of those card types in my discard pile, can I use the Supporter card Flower Shop Lady to return only the cards I do have to my deck?
A: Yes, you can. If you have 2 or fewer Pokemon or Basic Energy cards in your discard pile, you can return all of them to your deck. Also, if you don’t have 1 of those card types in your discard pile, you can return only the cards you do have to your deck. However, if you lack both Pokemon and Basic Energy in your discard pile, you can’t use the Supporter card Flower Shop Lady.

Q: When I have 3 or more Pokemon and no Basic Energy in my discard pile, can I use the Supporter “Flower Shop Lady”? Also, how do I handle a case like this?
A: Yes, you can use it. You can use the Supporter Flower Shop Lady if you have at least 1 Pokemon or Basic Energy card in your discard pile. Also, in this case, you choose 3 Pokemon cards from your discard pile, show them to your opponent, and return them to your deck. After that, you shuffle your deck and the effect ends.

Q: Can I use the Supporter card “Sage’s Training” when I have 4 or fewer cards in my deck?
A: Yes, you can. Look at all of your remaining cards, choose 2 cards and put them in your hand. If there are 2 or fewer cards in your deck, put all of them in your hand.

Q: Who chooses the card to discard with the effect of the Supporter card “Team Rocket’s Trickery”, the player who used “Team Rocket’s Trickery”, or the opposing player?
A: The opposing player.

Q: Can I use the Supporter “Team Rocket’s Trickery” when I have no cards in my deck, to make my opponent discard a card from his hand?
A: No, you can’t. You can’t use the Supporter Team Rocket’s Trickery when you have 0 cards in your deck.

Q: When I use the Supporter “Team Rocket’s Trickery”, can the opponent choose not to discard a card from his hand?
A: No, he can’t. If the opponent has 1 or more cards in his hand when the Supporter Team Rocket’s Trickery is used, the opponent must discard 1 card.

Q: Can I put a Special Energy card in my hand with the effect of the Trainer card “Energy Exchanger”?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: Is the damage done to a Pokemon with the Trainer card “Defender” attached to it reduced by 20 while that Pokemon is on the Bench?
A: Yes, it’s reduced by 20.

Q: Is “Defender” considered a “Pokemon Tool” card?
A: No, it isn’t. It’s considered a “Trainer” card.

Q: Can I attach 2 or more copies of the Trainer card “Defender” to 1 of my Pokemon?
A: Yes, you can. Damage done to a Pokemon with 2 Defender Trainers attached to it is reduced by 40.

Q: If I have 1 “Defender” Trainer card and 1 Special Metal Energy card attached to 1 of my Steel-type Pokemon, can damage done to that Pokemon by attacks be reduced by 30?
A: Yes, it can. Each effect works, and the damage received is reduced by 30.

Q: When Ledian’s (HS) “Swift” attack does damage to a Pokemon that has the Trainer card “Defender” attached, does it deal damage without applying the effect of the Defender?
A: Yes, it does. Since Ledian’s Swift attack does damage without applying Weakness, Resistance, or any effects on the opponent’s Active Pokemon, it also ignores the effect of the Trainer card Defender when doing damage.

Q: Can I use the Trainer card “Legend Box” when I have 9 or fewer cards in my deck?
A: Yes, you can. As long as you have at least 1 card in your deck, you can use it.

Q: When I use the Trainer card “Legend Box” to play a Legendary Pokemon onto my Bench, can I also attach all of the Special Energy cards I find?
A: Yes, you can. If the word “Energy” is written, it includes both Basic and Special Energy.

Q: When I use the effect of the Trainer card “Legend Box” to bring Lugia LEGEND (HS) into play from my deck, can I use the “Ocean Grow” Poke-Power?
A: Yes, you can. Even if Lugia LEGEND is brought into play by the effect of a Trainer card, you can use the Ocean Grow Poke-Power.

Q: When the Stadium “Ruins of Alph” is in play, can I use Beautifly’s (PT) “Silver Scale” attack to do 60 damage to my opponent’s Tyranitar?
A: No, you can’t. Since Tyranitar has no Resistance due to the effect of the Ruins of Alph Stadium, you can’t do 60 damage.

Q: If a Darkness-type Pokemon has 2 Special Darkness Energy cards attached to it, is damage done by its attacks increased by 20?
A: Yes, it’s increased by 20.

Q: How many “Special Darkness Energy” cards can I run in a 60-card Standard deck?
A: You can run up to 4 Special Energy cards with the same name in a 60-card Standard deck.

Q: Can I run a combination of 8 DP-series “Darkness Energy (Special Energy)” cards and “Special Darkness Energy” cards?
A: No, you can’t. They are treated as cards with the same name: “Special Darkness Energy”.

Q: Can I run a combination of 8 DP-series “Metal Energy (Special Energy)” cards and “Special Metal Energy” cards in a Standard (60 card) deck?
A: No, you can’t. They are treated as cards with the same name: “Special Metal Energy”.

Q: Is damage done to a Steel-type Pokemon that has 1 Special Metal Energy attached to it reduced by 10 while that Pokemon is on the Bench?
A: Yes, it’s reduced by 10.

Q: If a Steel-type Pokemon has 2 Special Metal Energy cards attached to it, is damage received reduced by 20?
A: Yes, it’s reduced by 20.

Q: When a Special Metal Energy is attached to a Steel-type Pokemon, is self-damage from Confusion also reduced by 10?
A: No, it isn’t reduced. What hits the Confused Pokemon on a tails coin flip isn’t 30 damage, but an effect of placing 3 damage counters.

Q: When Ledian’s (HS) “Swift” attack deals damage to a Steel-type Pokemon with Special Metal Energy attached to it, is damage dealt without applying the effect of Special Metal Energy?
A: Yes, it is. Since Ledian’s “Swift” doesn’t apply Weakness, Resistance, or effects on the opponent’s Active Pokemon, the effect of Metal Special Energy is also ignored when doing damage.

Q: When I attach a Rainbow Energy to a Pokemon from my deck, using the effect of Lugia LEGEND’s (HS) “Ocean Grow” Poke-Power, the effect of the Trainer card “Legend Box”, etc., do I place a damage counter on the Pokemon?
A: No, you don’t. The effect of placing a damage counter when attaching Rainbow Energy only works when Rainbow Energy is attached to a Pokemon from your hand. So, if it’s attached to a Pokemon from your deck, you don’t place a damage counter.

Q: When I attach a Rainbow Energy to a “Claw Fossil” Trainer card in play, does it provide 1 Energy of every Type?
A: Yes, it does. Since the Claw Fossil Trainer card is treated as a Basic Pokemon as long as it’s in play, Rainbow Energy provides 1 Energy of every Type.

Q: What’s the difference between the effects of Rainbow Energy and Multi Energy?
A: As long as either Rainbow Energy or Multi Energy are attached to a Pokemon, they function as 1 unit of Energy of every Type. As for differences, in the case of Rainbow Energy, even if Special Energy cards besides the Rainbow Energy are attached, it still functions as every Type. As for Multi Energy, when a Special Energy card besides the Multi Energy is attached to a Pokemon that has Multi Energy attached to it, it doesn’t function as every Type, but as 1 unit of Colorless Energy. Additionally, for Rainbow Energy alone, if you attach it from your hand, you place 1 damage counter.

Q: How many Special Energy cards can I put in a 30 card deck, and how many can I put in a 60 card deck? For example, can I put 4 Multi Energy cards and 4 Double Colorless Energy cards in a 60 card deck?
A: There are no restrictions on Special Energy as a category, and you can put up to 2 cards with the same name in a 30 card deck and up to 4 cards in a 60 card deck. As a result, you can run 4 Multi Energy cards and 4 Double Colorless Energy card in a 60 card deck.



Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional!

Valid CSS!