FAQ

Q: Up to how many Legendary Pokemon cards can I put in my deck? For example, can I put Lugia LEGEND (HS), Suicune & Entei LEGEND, and Darkrai & Cresselia LEGEND (LL) in one deck?
A: Yes, you can. There are no restrictions applied to Legendary Pokemon cards as a category, but you can run up to 2 cards with the same name in a 30 card deck, and up to 4 cards in a 60 card deck. Also, the top and bottom portions of a Legendary Pokemon’s card are each treated as 1 Pokemon card. As a result, you can put 2 component cards, or 1 complete Lugia LEGEND, Suicune & Entei LEGEND, and Darkrai & Cresselia LEGEND in a 30 card deck, and up to 4 component cards or 2 complete sets of each in a 60 card deck.

Q: Do Entei & Raikou LEGEND count as 2 Pokemon when they’re on the Bench?
A: No, they don’t. They count as 1 Benched Pokemon. Similarly, Suicune & Entei LEGEND and Raikou & Suicune LEGEND are also counted as 1 Benched Pokemon.

Q: If Entei & Raikou LEGEND’s “Detonation Swirl” attack deals damage to an opponent’s Active Pokemon that has a Lightning Weakness, can I add damage for the Lightning Weakness?
A: Yes, you can. Entei & Raikou LEGEND is 1 Pokemon with 2 Types—Fire and Lightning, so when either of its attacks does damage, Fire Weaknesses and Lightning Weaknesses are both targeted.

Q: If Raikou & Suicune LEGEND, which is both a Lightning-type and a Water-type, deals damage with an attack to Suicune & Entei LEGEND, which has both a Lightning and Water Weakness, what is the Weakness multiplier?
A: It’s a 4x multiplier. The Weakness is calculated for each Type. So, if the Lightning and Water-type Raikou & Suicune LEGEND does damage with an attack to Suicune & Entei LEGEND, which has a (x2) Weakness to both Lightning and Water, the Weakness is 4x.

Q: When the Stadium “Sunnyshore City Gym” (RR) is in play, does Entei & Raikou LEGEND, which has Weaknesses to both the Water-type and the Fighting-type, only lose its Lightning-type Weakness to Fighting, making it Weak to only Water?
A: No, Entei & Raikou LEGEND loses all of its Weaknesses. Entei & Raikou LEGEND has 2 Types, Fire and Lightning, but it is treated as a single Pokemon. Moreover, the Sunnyshore City Gym Stadium has the effect of removing all Weaknesses from Lightning-type Pokemon. As a result, the Weaknesses of Entei & Raikou LEGEND, which is treated as a Lightning-type, all vanish.

Q: On the turn that I used Salamence LV.X’s (PA) “Double Fall” Poke-Power, Salamence LV.X Knocked Out my opponent’s Entei & Raikou LEGEND. In this case, how many Prize cards do I take?
A: 3 Prize cards. You can take 2 Prize cards for each Entei & Raikou LEGEND that gets Knocked Out. Then, with the effect of the Double Fall Poke-Power, you can take an additional Prize card for each Pokemon that’s Knocked Out, so you take a total of 3 Prize cards.

Q: On the turn that I used Salamence LV.X’s (PA) “Double Fall” Poke-Power, I simultaneously Knocked Out both an Active and a Benched Entei & Raikou LEGEND with the previous level Salamence’s “Shoot Through” attack. How many Prize cards can I take in this instance?
A: 6 Prize cards. You take 2 Prize cards for each Entei & Raikou LEGEND that you Knock Out. Additionally, with the effect of the “Double Fall” Poke-Power, you can take 1 additional Prize card for every Pokemon you Knock Out, so you can take a total of 6 Prize cards.

Q: When my Suicune & Entei LEGEND with an “Expert Belt” (PA) Pokemon Tool card attached to it is Knocked Out, how many Prize cards does my opponent take?
A: 3 Prize cards. If Suicune & Entei LEGEND is Knocked Out, your opponent can take 2 Prize cards. Then due to the effect of the Expert Belt Pokemon Tool card, when your opponent takes his Prize cards, he can take 1 additional Prize card, making the total 3.

Q: When a Pokemon in play has a second Type in addition to the Fire-type (Entei & Raikou LEGEND, Suicune & Entei LEGEND), does Kingdra’s “Dragon Steam” attack do 20 base damage?
A: Yes, it does 20 base damage.

Q: Can I put a Pokemon that has a second Type in addition to the Water-type (Raikou & Suicune LEGEND, Suicune & Entei LEGEND) into my hand with Mantine’s (HS)“Group Swim” attack?
A: Yes, you can. Since Raikou & Suicune LEGEND and Suicune & Entei LEGEND are treated as Water-types, you can put them in your hand with Mantine’s Group Swim attack.

Q: When I use the Trainer card “Pokeball” and flip heads, can I combine the top and bottom cards of a Raikou & Suicune LEGEND in my deck, making 1 Pokemon from the 2 cards, and put it in my hand?
A: No, you can’t. While a Legendary Pokemon in the deck, hand, discard pile, or Prize stack, the top and bottom are each treated as 1 Pokemon card. Since what the effect of the Trainer card Poke-Ball can put in your hand from your deck is 1 Pokemon card, you can’t choose the 2 cards that make up the top and bottom of Raikou & Suicune LEGEND.

Q: Can a Basic Water Energy attached to a Ho-oh LEGEND that has the “Sacred Rainbow” Poke-Body be moved to an Active Pokemon via Blastoise’s “Washout” Poke-Power?
A: No, it can’t.

Q: On my opponent’s previous turn, my Active Pokemon was Poisoned by my opponent’s Crobat’s “Severe Poison” attack. I’ve used Xatu’s (SW) “Psychic Shift” to make my opponent’s Active Pokemon similarly Poisoned. How many damage counters are placed on the opponent’s Active Pokemon in between turns?
A: Just 1. When Psychic Shift is used to copy a Poison condition that places 4 damage counters onto the opponent, it turns into Poison that places 1 damage counter on the opponent’s Pokemon.

Q: Can I use Dunsparce’s “Return” attack when I have 6 or more cards in my hand?
A: Yes, you can. Do 10 damage, and end the attack.

Q: Can I use Dunsparce’s “Return” attack when I have 1 card in my hand and 4 or fewer cards in my deck?
A: Yes, you can. After damaging the opponent, draw as many cards from your deck as possible, and end the attack.

Q: Can I attach a Rainbow Energy from my hand to Floatsel with its “Water Acceleration” Poke-Power?
A: No, you can’t. Since a Rainbow Energy in your hand is treated as 1 unit of Colorless Energy, it can’t be attached to Floatsel.

Q: I use Jirachi’s “Stardust Song” Poke-Power and flip 3 heads while I have 3 or more Psychic Energy cards in my discard pile. Can I choose only 1 Psychic Energy card from my discard pile and attach it to Jirachi?
A: No, you can’t. You must attach 3 cards to Jirachi.

Q: Can I use the “Time Hollow” attack of a Jirachi with 2 Energy cards attached to it, to Devolve my opponent’s Torterra into a Turtwig?
A: No, you can’t. You can’t Devolve a Pokemon by more than 1 Evolutionary stage.

Q: Can Jirachi’s “Time Hollow” attack be used on an opponent’s Pokemon LV.X?
A: If the Pokemon LV.X Leveled Up from a Stage 1 Evolution or a Stage 2 Evolution, you can use it. In that case, both the LV.X card and the Evolution card are removed and returned to the opponent’s deck.

Q: If my Jirachi uses its “Time Hollow” attack on an opponent’s Pokemon that Evolved from a Basic Pokemon into a Stage 2 Evolved Pokemon via the effect of the Trainer card “Rare Candy”, what happens to the opponent’s Pokemon?
A: The opponent’s Pokemon reverts to the Basic Pokemon it was prior to the use of the Rare Candy Trainer card.

Q: Can I return a Double Colorless Energy attached to Kingdra to my hand with the “Stream Pump” attack?
A: Yes, you can. In this instance, 2 units of Energy are returned to your hand.

Q: Can I move a Double Colorless Energy attached to Lanturn onto one of my Benched Pokemon with the “Reflect Energy” attack?
A: Yes, you can. In this instance, 2 units of Energy are moved to your Benched Pokemon.

Q: Can I use Lanturn’s “Reflect Energy” attack when I have a Benched Pokemon, and not move an Energy attached to Lanturn onto my Benched Pokemon?
A: No, you can’t. If you have any Benched Pokemon, you must move Energy.

Q: When the opponent has no cards in his deck, can I use Larvitar’s “Mountain Eater” attack to restore Larvitar’s HP?
A: No, you can’t. If you can’t discard cards from your opponent’s deck, you can’t restore Larvitar’s HP either.

Q: If I use Lucario’s “Bulk Up” attack, then use its “Magnum Punch” attack during my next turn, is the damage increased by 30?
A: Yes, it is. The base damage for the Magnum Punch attack becomes 80.

Q: If I use Lucario’s “Bulk Up” attack, and on my next turn attach the Trainer card “Plus Power” and use an attack, is damage done to the opponent’s Active Pokemon increased by 40?
A: Yes, it is. The effects of the Bulk Up attack and the Plus Power Trainer are cumulative.

Q: Can I use Magmortar’s “Hard Crush” attack when I have 2 or fewer cards in my deck?
A: Yes, you can. Discard all of the cards remaining in your deck, then do 50 damage to the opponent’s Active Pokemon for each Energy card you discarded. If you have no cards in your deck to begin with, the attack ends without dealing damage.

Q: Can I deal 40 damage to 1 of my opponent’s Benched Pokemon two times with Metagross’ “Double Leg Hammer” attack?
A: No, you can’t.

Q: If my opponent only has 1 Benched Pokemon when I use Metagross’ “Double Leg Hammer” attack, can I do 40 damage to the opponent’s Active Pokemon?
A: No, you can’t. If there’s only 1 Benched Pokemon that Double Arm Hammer can deal damage to, do damage to just that Pokemon and the attack ends.

Q: While I have a Metagross with the “Psychic Float” Poke-Body in play, does my Active Pokemon, with a Rainbow Energy providing every Type of Energy attached to it, have no retreat cost?
A: Yes.

Q: Does Metagross’ “Psychic Float” Poke-Body eliminate the retreat cost of a Ho-oh LEGEND with a Basic Psychic Energy attached to it?
A: No, it doesn’t.

Q: When I use Metang’s “Energy Crane” attack and choose 2 Psychic Energy cards, can I attach each card to a different Pokemon?
A: Yes, you can. You can attach 2 cards to 1 Pokemon or 1 card each to 2 Pokemon.

Q: Can a Basic Psychic Energy attached to a Ho-oh LEGEND (HS) that has the “Sacred Rainbow” Poke-Body be moved by a Mismagius with the “Magical Trans” Poke-Power?
A: No, it can’t.

Q: Can I use Numel’s “Flare Bonus” attack when I have no Fire Energy in my hand to just draw 3 cards from my deck?
A: No, you can’t. If you can’t discard Fire Energy from your hand with the Flare Bonus attack, the attack ends there.

Q: When I attach an Energy card from my hand to Onix, which happens first: placing 1 damage counter on Onix with my opponent’s Ampharos’ (HS) “Conductivity” Poke-Body, or restoring 10 HP with Onix’s “Energy Healer” Poke-Body?
A: Onix’s owner can choose.

Q: When I attach a Rainbow Energy card from my hand to Onix, which happens first: placing 1 damage counter with Rainbow Energy’s effect, or restoring 10 HP with Onix’s “Energy Healer” Poke-Body?
A: Onix’s owner can choose.

Q: When I attach a Double Colorless Energy card from my hand to Onix, can I restore 20 HP for the 2 units of Energy with the “Energy Healer” Poke-Body?
A: No, you can’t. You can restore 10 HP for each Energy card you attach.

Q: If I attach a “Rainbow Energy”, which provides both Grass-type and Psychic-type Energy, to Roserade and use its “Energy Signal” Poke-Power, can I inflict both the Poison and Confusion Special Conditions on the opponent’s Active Pokemon?
A: Yes, you can. Since Rainbow Energy is treated as both Grass-type and Psychic-type Energy, both effects work, and the opponent’s Active Pokemon becomes afflicted with 2 Special conditions: Poison and Confusion.

Q: If I attach a “Rainbow Energy” from my hand to a Roserade with 1 “Multi Energy” card and no Special Conditions on it, can I use its “Energy Signal” Poke-Power?
A: Yes, you can. Since Rainbow Energy is treated as every Type, the Grass-type and Psychic-type effects both work, and the opponent’s Active Pokemon becomes afflicted with 2 Special conditions: Poison and Confusion. Additionally, once the Rainbow Energy is attached, Multi Energy provides 1 unit of Colorless Energy.

Q: A Roserade that already used its “Energy Signal” Poke-Power once during my turn has an additional Energy attached to it with Leafeon LV.X’s (MD) “Energy Forcing” Poke-Power. In this instance, can I use the Energy Signal Poke-Power again?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: I used Lickilicky C’s (SV) “Licking-Licking Heal” attack to attach a Grass Energy to Roserade. Can I use Roserade’s “Energy Signal” Poke-Power in this case?
A: Yes, you can. After attaching an Energy from your hand and removing damage counters with the effect of the Licking-Licking Heal attack, you can use the Energy Signal Poke-Power.

Q: Can Roserade’s “Energy Signal” Poke-Power, Sceptile’s (PA) “Green Breath” Poke-Body, Shaymin LV.X’s (Pt) “Seed Flare” attack, and similar Poke-Powers, Poke-Bodies, and attack effects that say “whenever you attach __ Energy from your hand to a Pokemon” or “Choose any number of __ Energy from your hand” be used when playing Special Energy cards that provide 1 unit of Colorless Energy while not attached to a Pokemon, and all Types of Energy while attached to a Pokemon, from your hand? Also, are effects that activate when the Energy is attached based on the Energy’s Type while in your hand? Or the Type it becomes after being attached to a Pokemon?
A: For the effects of Roserade’s Energy Signal Poke-Power and Sceptile’s Green Breath Poke-Body, the determination of whether or not the Poke-Power or Poke-Body works is based on what the Energy’s Type is when it’s attached from the hand to the Pokemon. For this reason, if a Special Energy that provides every Type of Energy while it is attached to a Pokemon is attached, the effects of the Energy Signal Poke-Power and the Green Breath Poke-Body work. In the case of Shaymin LV.X’s Seed Flare attack, since it’s an attack that chooses Grass Energy from the hand, then attaches the selected Energy to a Pokemon afterward, Special Energy that doesn’t provide Grass Energy while in the hand can’t be chosen. Also, if “Energy” is written, that includes both Basic and Special Energy.

Q: If a Roserade with a Basic Grass Energy and a Double Colorless Energy Special Energy attached to it uses its “Power Blow” attack, can it do 60 damage?
A: Yes, it can. The Double Colorless Energy counts as 2 units of Energy.

Q: If I use Spearow’s “Roost” attack, then evolve Spearow into Fearow during my next turn, can Fearow retreat?
A: Yes, it can retreat. If a Pokemon that’s hit by an effect of an attack Evolves, Devolves, or Levels Up, the attack’s effect vanishes. So, if Spearow Evolves, the effect of its Roost attack vanishes, and it can retreat.

Q: Can I use Stantler’s “Call For Family” attack to choose 2 Legendary Pokemon cards, combine them, and play them on my Bench?
A: No, you can’t. Since Legendary Pokemon aren’t “Basic Pokemon”, you can’t choose them.

Q: Can I use Stantler’s “Call For Family” attack to play cards from the DPt series and earlier onto my Bench?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: When a Steelix that was turned into a Darkness-type by the effect of Weavile’s (SW) “Dark Engage” Poke-Power uses its “Energy Stream” attack and attaches a Special Darkness Energy card from the discard pile, is Steelix’s current attack’s damage increased by 10 with the effect of the Special Darkness Energy?
A: No, it isn’t. In the order of operations for attacks, effects occur after the attack’s damage is dealt to the opponent’s Pokemon. Since Steelix didn’t have the Special Darkness Energy attached to it at the point when damage was dealt to the opponent’s Pokemon by the attack, the damage from Steelix’s attack isn’t increased by 10.

Q: I dealt 40 damage with Torterra’s “Giga Drain” attack when my opponent’s Active Pokemon had 10 HP remaining. In this instance, how much HP can I restore?
A: You can restore 40 HP. Even though the opponent’s Pokemon had 10 HP remaining, the damage dealt was 40, and you can restore HP equal to the amount of damage dealt.

Q: Do I apply Weakness and Resistance when I use Tyranitar’s “Power Claw” attack?
A: Yes, you do. If a Pokemon has Weakness or Resistance to the Darkness-type, perform that calculation.

Q: If my Tyranitar uses its “Power Claw” attack on an opponent’s Active Pokemon with a Dark-type Weakness and a “Bubble Coat” (LA) Pokemon Tool card attached, do I apply Weakness?
A: Yes, you do. Since Tyranitar’s Power Claw attack doesn’t apply effects on the opponent’s Active Pokemon, the effect of the Bubble Coat Pokemon Tool is ignored, and Weakness is applied.

Q: If I use Tyranitar’s “Power Claw” attack when the Stadium “Lake Boundary” (MT) is in play, are all Weakness calculations (x2)?
A: No, they aren’t. Since Tyranitar’s Power Claw attack doesn’t apply effects on the opponent’s Active Pokemon, the effect of the Lake Boundary Stadium is also ignored, and the Pokemon’s printed Weakness is applied.

Q: When my opponent’s Pokemon has the status of not receiving damage or effects from attacks, can I use Tyranitar’s “Power Claw” attack to deal damage?
A: Yes, you can. Since Tyranitar’s Power Claw attack doesn’t apply effects on the opponent’s Active Pokemon, it also ignores the “prevent all effects of attacks, including damage” effect on the opponent’s Pokemon, and can deal damage.

Q: Can I use Tyranitar’s “Megaton Tail” attack to deal 120 damage to my opponent’s Active Pokemon when I have 2 or fewer cards in my deck?
A: Yes, you can. After dealing damage to the opponent’s Active Pokemon with the attack, discard as many cards as are in your deck.

Q:Can I use Tyranitar’s “Megaton Tail” when I have 1 card left in my deck?
A: Yes, you can. After dealing damage to the opponent’s Active Pokemon with the attack, discard as many cards as are in your deck.

Q: Can I use Weedle’s “Speed Evolution” attack to choose a Beedrill from my deck and Evolve into it?
A: No, you can’t. Weedle’s Speed Evolution only allows the user to Evolve to its next Evolutionary stage, so it can’t Evolve a Basic Pokemon into a Stage 2 Evolved Pokemon.

Q: Can I Evolve a Kakuna that Evolved with the effect of Weedle’s “Speed Evolution” on my previous turn, by playing a Beedrill from my hand on top of it during my next turn?
A: Yes, you can. A Pokemon that Evolved via an effect of an attack during your previous turn can Evolve again during your next turn.

Q: Can I play the Supporter card “Engineer’s Adjustments” while I have no Energy cards in my hand, and just draw 4 cards from my deck?
A: No, you can’t. If you have no Energy cards in your hand, you can’t use Engineer’s Adjustments.

Q: Can I shuffle my deck without choosing any of the Energy cards I saw with the effect of the Supporter card “Interviewer’s Questions”?
A: Yes, you can. Put the cards back as they were, shuffle your deck, and the effect ends.

Q: When I use the Supporter card “Interviewer’s Questions” to look at the top 8 cards of my deck, if there aren’t any Energy, do I show the 8 cards I looked at to my opponent?
A: No, don’t show him. Return the viewed cards to the deck, shuffle your deck, and the effect ends.

Q: Can I put Special Energy cards like Rainbow Energy in my hand with the effect of the Supporter card “Interviewer’s Questions”?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: Can I use the Supporter card “Judge” when I have no cards in my deck?
A: Yes, you can. As long as either you or your opponent have at least 1 card in your hand or deck, you can use it.

Q: When it’s time to draw 4 cards for the effect of the Supporter card “Judge”, can I choose not to draw any cards?
A: No, you can’t. Both players must draw 4 cards. A player with less than 4 cards in his deck draws all of his remaining cards.

Q: If I flip 2 heads with a “Dual Ball”, can I choose a “Legendary Pokemon”?
A: No, you can’t. Legendary Pokemon aren’t Basic Pokemon.

Q: Can I use the Trainer card “Good Rod” if I have no Pokemon cards in my discard pile?
A: Yes, you can. However, if you also have no Trainer cards in your discard pile, you can’t use it.

Q: Can I return the Trainer card “Good Rod”, that I’m in the midst of playing, to the top of my deck, using its own effect?
A: No, you can’t. Trainer cards are discarded after their effects have completely resolved.

Q: Can I Evolve a Basic Pokemon that was put into play during my turn, with the effect of the Trainer card “Rare Candy”?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: Can I use the Trainer card “Rare Candy” to Evolve a Pikachu that Evolved from Pichu via the “Baby Evolution” Poke-Power, into Raichu?
A: Yes, you can. If the word “Basic” is written on the Pokemon, the Trainer card Rare Candy can be used to Evolve it. Also, based on official rule B-03: “revised card effects”, the Trainer card “Rare Candy” from the DP series is handled in the same way.

Q: When I use Lickilicky’s (PT) “Harrumph” attack on my opponent’s Infernape, which was Evolved from Chimchar using the Trainer card “Rare Candy”, can I discard the Rare Candy attached to Infernape and Devolve it into Chimchar?
A: No, you can’t. The Trainer card Rare Candy isn’t a card that gets attached to a Pokemon when it’s used; it’s immediately discarded after you’re finished using it. So, since Rare Candy isn’t attached to Infernape when you use Lickilicky’s Harrumph attack, you can’t discard it and Infernape can’t be Devolved.



Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional!

Valid CSS!