Gym Leader Battle (Alternate Format Idea)

WhiteKrow

Aspiring Trainer
Hi all, I'm relatively new to the TCG and would like to know if anyone would be interested in working with me to build on, test, and play an idea for a new "casual" format for the PTCG which I have named the Gym Leader Battle format (name is subject to change). I didn't see a particular forum that addresses unsanctioned formats, so I decided this forum is as good as any.

(If this isn't the right place for this kind of discussion, please relocate my thread)

I'd like to make a format that is similar to the Commander format in Magic: The Gathering, and given that Pokemon has an even greater emphasis on players identifying with individual creatures, I think it could really work. But I would also like it to feel as much like a Pokemon adventure as possible too, where each player is an aspiring gym leader battling each other for badges and meeting new Pokemon along the way. Here are my initial ideas:

-Deck Construction-

1. Players build a 99 card singleton main deck, with these exceptions:

-Basic energies
-Cards that specifically allow more than one copy
-Players may include up to 4 of a pokemon with the same name, but each card must be unique (not just alternate arts, reprints, etc)

2. Players build two other smaller decks; the first is the Starters deck, the second is the Evolutions deck.

-A player's Starters deck is 5 cards. Each card must be a unique, basic non-EX pokemon. Each card must not share a name with another card in the Starters deck.

-A player's main deck and Starters deck may not share exact copies of the same card, but may share names