Need some major help beating my husband...

zenurse

Aspiring Trainer
My husband and I just started playing the TCG on a lark, mostly because we both have a competitive mental illness and we've always loved the Pokemon franchise. We've played three times now and he's beaten me every time and I can't take it any more. Obviously we're both complete noobs -- I'm just using a mashup of random pokemon that I got in variety packs and on ebay auctions, and he's using mostly Eeveelutions.

His deck is stacked with Evee, and he uses its "search your deck for eeveelutions" perk to get Umbreon, who he just keeps on his bench because it eliminates the weaknesses from all the Eeveelutions and lets them retreat at no energy cost. Then he brings out a couple Leafeons and Espeons and just destroys (decimates my bench with Shadow Ball and prevents me from stacking on energy with Energy Crush). He also has a couple of the trainer cards that let you go into your discard pile and revive a Pokemon. Pretty much his only other Pokemon is Bulbasaur, and he has all the evolutions so it's basically Venosaur, and I really don't have a problem with him as I've got several fire guys, but it takes forever to get him out because of the 140hp.

Again, I'm a total noob but I could really use some basic help on building my deck to counter my husband's above eeveelutions. Thanks for reading!

What is your current deck list?