Starting out competitive play

infektionfoxtrot

Aspiring Trainer
Hello everyone. I am completely new to the competitive side of pokemon cards, I always collected them but have never actually played the game. I do know some of the basics, hp, energy, evolving, ect. I was wondering if there was a great step by step guide that helps someone new become a tournament level player. I realize that becoming a great player takes practice, but I would love a reference. Ideally something that also includes terms included with pokemon. I hear things like metagame, and have no idea what is being discussed. If anyone can help out a starter it would be great! If im posting this in the wrong section im very sorry, im new to the forums. Thanks!

Please post new/returning player threads in the Training Facility. I'll move it there for you.

Anyway, if you buy a theme deck, you'll get a full rulebook providing all the basics of how to play the game. You can also go to pokemon.com and find a free guide there; I believe there's a somewhat interactive one in their online section, but I'm not sure. Note that theme decks show horrible deck construction, though.

Celebi23 said:
Please post new/returning player threads in the Training Facility. I'll move it there for you.

Anyway, if you buy a theme deck, you'll get a full rulebook providing all the basics of how to play the game. You can also go to pokemon.com and find a free guide there; I believe there's a somewhat interactive one in their online section, but I'm not sure. Note that theme decks show horrible deck construction, though.

Thank you Celebi23 for your help. I have bought a couple of theme decks, and they have helped with the basics. Is there is beginners guide that you know of that really tries to build step by step to becoming a better player? Something that goes beyond rules, to strategies, tips, and deck building? In summary becoming a well rounded, informed player?