Help Understanding Expanded Meta

HurricaneGL

Aspiring Trainer
I'm still fairly new to the game, I've only been playing competitively for about 6 mos. I've never played in anything bigger than a League Cup, and only about 5 of those. I'm planning on going to Daytona for my 1st Regionals experience. So I'm looking for some help understanding the Meta. Mainly, I'm looking for the +/- matchups for each deck. Meaning, Deck A has + matchups against x, y, Z and bad matchups vs 1, 2, 3. All info is much appreciated.

Decks
*M Ray
*Night March
*Primal Groudon
*Vespi/Flareon
*Turbo Dark
*Volcanion
*Toad Variants
*Trevenant

The problem with the meta right now is that, because of Burning Shadows and the recent ban to Forest of Giant Plants and Archeops, the meta is a freakin' mess right now.

If you're going to Daytona, I'd maybe wait a little bit to figure out what to play until those results come out. I've been relentlessly researching Expanded since they released the listing for regionals (Dallas is having Expanded...so I have to study for that, oi vey).

The thing to keep in mind is that, unlike Standard, the Expanded meta is like a BIG circle; it's rock-paper-scissors on crank. EVERY meta-relevant deck (which is about 9-13, depending on who you talk to) has at least 2 hard counters.

I'm not an expert on Expanded, but from what I have been researching, get ready for a TON of Night March. Marshadow is a big tech component in the deck that can help it against facing Darkrai decks (both NM and Darkrai are in contention of being the most consistent decks of Expanded).

That said, NM rolls over and dies to Item lock builds (Trevenant Break and Seismitoad variants) and maybe Mega Ray seeing as how NM decks have nothing but super low HP Pokémon and a teched Parallel City or Soodowoodo won't help.