AP Courses

Jamtok

Aspiring Trainer
Hey everyone. I'm currently a GT student and am taking AP World History, as it is sadly the only AP course offered for sophomores at the high school I attend (and still making all A's). My question:

Is it worth it in the end? After working about 5 times as hard as the students in the regular classes, is it really going to help me in the end? For those of you in college already, did you take any AP courses in High School? Did the college you go to accept that dual credit, or were they douches, and denied it? I don't want to work my behind off for nothing if the majority of colleges, especially the one I want to go to, rejects my extra efforts. Oh, and rank...I'm number nine out of six hundred something people in my grade; is that okay? In other words, if I stay between 8-10 all the way into my senior year, will I be good to go, or do colleges only pay attention to people ranks #1-5? I know all these questions can be answered elsewhere, but your personal experience would really help. I'm really stressing about this; any help would be deeply appreciated.

Honestly the only thing I think AP classes are good for is college credit. I'm still applying to colleges but the three I am applying to accept most if not all of the credit I received from the AP tests. Some vary on how much credit you get for a test, but I think most colleges will accept most tests. You can usually find somewhere on the college's website what tests they accept and how much credit you receive.

Nine out of six hundred is a really good rank. You don't have to worry about it at all I don't think. I'm in the 20s to 30s out of about four hundred and one school I applied to offered me a scholarship for 75% of tuition each year for four years. As long as you don't drastically drop in rank you should be all right for when you apply to college in two years.