Scared to go to a prerelease :(

moiks

Aspiring Trainer
I only started playing around a week after Legends came out. And I've never gone to one prerelease in my life. I don't know what to do; I'd probably be intimidated by the good players there x_x.

I'm trying to persuade a friend to come with me, but even he doesn't know what to expect. :(

Any advice please? :)

Bring money about 15 of each energy type and you get 6 packs, make a deck from them and thats it, dont worry about loosing because prizes are the same from 1st to last.

There isn't all that much skill involved in a prerelease tournament. A lot of it is just dumb luck. There's no reason to be scared! ;) It's probably one of the more friendly formats out there.

the first official game I ever played was prerealease from Ex delta species. I got my ass kicked due to bad cards, strongest pokemon was vaporeon and I didn't even draw eevee to get it.
So if you get a little bit lucky you'll sweep the most experienced players

Good luck!

Since you can only use cards from SF, everyone has an equal chance at a good deck. And the skilled guys and veterans won't think less of you. I'd go to a prerelease myself but the nearest one is over 100 miles from where I live. So you should feel fortunate that you even have the chance to attend one.

They sound like fun too. So you'll have a blast!

Don't worry. Even if you lose, the worst thing that'll happen is that...

You lost, that's all. Anyway, on registration, you receive six packs to build a 40 card deck. All energies are provided for you (you just have to return it later). If you're playing the SF prerelease, there's plenty of threads around Pokebeach that discusses the best cards for PR, like mine:

http://pokebeach.com/forums/showthread.php?tid=43317

Anyway, afterwards you get two more packs and 60-card sleeves. Tell your friend that there's no need to worry.