Anime Discussion Thread

RE: Best Anime Series?

GHJamesGH said:
What do you guys think is the best anime series? I have a subscription to a website that has all the episodes from a ton of series. Please do not say Pokemon, Digimon, Dragon Ball, or Yu-Gi-Oh.

Why can't we say those .-.?

Code Geass is my favorite by far. There is so much character development, and action. In a good 50 episodes, you learn everything you'll need to learn about the show's characters. It has a motif of rebellion (I think the word I'm looking for is motif). The show plays out like a game of chess. So much so that in season 2, it names the episodes "turns". Every episode ends on a cliff hanger, and you'll want t see how it ends up. You're going to get stuck on this one ;)

Also, I would actually recommend the English dub. The voices are very good, and with subs, you'll often miss some key points.

Gurren Lagann is the best anime series ever, hands down. Everything about it is absolutely amazing.

Aside from that I'm a big fan of Berserk, Samurai Champloo, Gungrave, Elfen Lied, Code Geass, D. Grey Man, Black Blood Brothers, the Vampire Hunter D movies, Escaflowne.... I could go on forever.

Classifications, PLEASE!

I think it's unfair to try and say there's one anime to rule them all. It may be a matter of comparing Dark Knight to Little Mermaid, so to say.

Best Beat'em-up: Yu-Yu Hakusho.